Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In

Governing Board

All faculty are members of the senate, by definition. For operational purposes, four groups have been created, an executive senate (six members, including a president, vice-president, appointments secretary, and a correspondence secretary, as well as a representative from the associate faculty on each campus) and a site council for each campus (Five members, including a site president, site vice president, site secretary, two members and an associate faculty representative). A three-member judiciary committee conducts elections and ensures that the MSJC academic senate operates in accord with its own constitution.

How does this structure work?

While the executive senate responds to basic operational demands in college operations, all policy proposals and changes to the MSJC's shared governance agreement must come to the senate with full knowledge of the site councils. Periodically, the senate takes sounding of opinion on matters before it, either through hearings or by distributing pending issues for comment. All changes to the senate constitution must be approved by a vote of the faculty. 


The Academic Senate for the 2015-2016 term is as follows:

Executive Senate: ​
                               Stacey Searl-Chapin President                                                      
​                               Lorraine Slattery-Farrell ​Vice President
​                               Caren Hennessy
​Correspondence Secretary
​                               Tamara Smith ​Appointment Secretary
​                               VACANT ​MVC Associate Faculty Representative
​                               David Smith ​SJC Associate Faculty Representative


​ ​Menifee Site Council:                                    ​ ​San Jacinto Site Council:             
Stacey Searl-Chapin President​                                             ​Lorraine Slattery-Farrell ​President                           
​Caren Hennessy ​Vice-President Tamara Smith
​Paul Hert Secretary ​David Parrott Secretary
Dewey Heinsma ​Senator VACANT ​Senator
Richard LeGarra
​Senator ​Alma Ramirez ​Senator
​VACANT ​MVC Associate Faculty Rep ​David Smith
SJC Associate Faculty Rep