Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-15-2013

Weekly Round-Up 10-15-2013

Author Reading
Oct. 15, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 407
Paula Priamos, author of the memoir, The Shyster’s Daughter
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
SGA Mental Health Awareness BBQ’s
Oct. 15, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
Oct. 17, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Campus clubs will present information on various mental illnesses  
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
MVC Book of the Month Club
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, by Ayana Mathis
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Films
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
“Battle for Syria” and “The Regime Response”
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B - Exponent Rules
Oct. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Word Problems
Oct. 16, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication & Division
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Factoring Polynomials
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 – Nursing Transfer: Generic BSN
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – UC Application
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – CSU Application
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Metacognition
Oct. 16, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Writing a Research Paper
Oct. 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Memory & Concentration
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Bookstore Sale
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Bookstore
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Bookstore
T-shirts, coffee mugs, art supplies, pens, highlighters and more!
For more information contact Justin Naish at 951-639-5133 or jnaish@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – How to get Involved!
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 –   “           “            “
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Memory & Concentration Techniques
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Creating your Portfolio/Resume
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Reading and Metacognition
Oct. 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 21, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Grammar Questions
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Concentration while Writing
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Student Internships
Oct. 15, 12:45 pm, MVC Quad Area
A representative from State Senator Joel Anderson’s Temecula office will meet with students interested in seeking internships.
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 205/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 16, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Great California Shakeout
Oct. 17, 10:17 am, All Campuses
Drop, cover, and hold on!
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Multimedia Lecture
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
A panel of five experts address questions: How Animation is Made ‘Behind the Scenes’
For more information contact Don Smith at 951-639-5545 or dsmith@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Transfer Workshop
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Transfer workshop for Psychology and Sociology Majors
For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Community Outreach Art Exhibition: a.r.t.e.r.y.
Ends Oct. 17, SJC Art Gallery
Art Gallery Hours: M-Th 10am – 4pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
“All Faculty” Meeting
Oct. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Mark your calendars for this work session
For more information contact Jill Lanphere at 951-487-3401 or jlanphere@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Oct. 18, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
History Film Festival – Forging a Celluloid Nation: the Cinema of John Ford
Oct. 18, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
They Were Expendable (1945)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Presents: William Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew”
Oct. 18, 19, 25, 26 @ 7:30 pm, Oct. 20 & 27 @ 2:30 pm, SJC Studio Theatre
Directed by Paul Jacques, costume design by Cherie Riley, set design by Darren De Priest
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Psychology Club: The Garden of Secrets
Ends Oct. 18, MVC 400 Bldg.
In recognition of Mental Health Awareness Week
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Race for the Cure
Oct. 20th Promenade Mall, Temecula
You may register up until Oct. 14, but risk not getting an MSJC t-shirt. Race packets will be distributed Oct. 16th @ MVC and Oct. 17th @ SJC.
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Oct. 21 – Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
Choreography Showcase
Oct. 21, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Presents: Magic & Psychology
Oct. 21, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Magician Mark Collier, recipient of the prestigious Strolling Magician of the Year from the Magic Castle, will perform
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 21, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm.805
“El Orfanato” (2007) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Anger Management Presentation
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 355B/SJC Rm. 205 (Space limited, RSVP Lynn Mann at lmann@msjc.edu)
Garry Raley, Associate Faculty, PSYC, will present to our Classified Staff
 
Human Rights Film Series
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
Hosted by the Diversity Committee: Iranium with guest speaker Tamara Smith, History Professor
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Business Economic Forum
Oct. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Financial Literacy for Everyone, with Darren Canada, JD, CFP, Registered Principle, Raymond James Financial Services, Inc.
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Fall Concert
Oct. 22, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The sounds of autumn will fill the theatre when the MSJC Concert Band presents its Fall Concert
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
Oct. 25, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, MVC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Motorcycle Run
Oct. 26, 7:30 am, MVC to SJC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Community BBQ & Homecoming Football Game
Oct. 26, 11:30 am, SJC Stadium
Community BBQ, sponsored by the Soboba Foundation. Free with paid admission to the Homecoming Football Game
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
MVC Performing Arts together with the Fine Arts Network Present: PIPPIN
Now through Oct. 27, Old Town Temecula Community Theatre
PIPPIN is the 2013 Tony Award Winner for Best Musical Revival! For tickets call 866-653-8696
New discounts for students and teachers: $10 Saturday Only!
For more information contact Lori Torok at 951-639-5630 or ltorok@msjc.edu
 
Halloween Decorating & Costume Contest
Now through Oct. 31, 9:00 am – Noon, MVC & SJC
The Classified Senate is holding its annual decorating and costume contest
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Pink October
In support of breast cancer awareness month, the MSJC Komen Race Committee is asking everyone to wear pink on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the month of October.
 
MSJC 2014 Academy - Call for Proposals
Due Nov. 1, 2013
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu