Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-16-2012

Weekly Round-Up 10-16-2012

Halloween Department Decorating & Employee Costume Contest!
Oct. 31st, All Campuses
To participate, and for more information, contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
SGA ShakeOut BBQ
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad Area
Encouraging staff and students to participate in the Great California ShakeOut 2012, on Oct. 18, 10:18 am
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Economic Film: The Manchurian Candidate
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
Brandman University Scholarship Information Session
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Brandman and MSJC partner to offer our employees the opportunity to further their education
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
STEM Day
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Hosted by MSJC STEM Program in partnership with UCR
For more information contact Leticia Luna-Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 957 UC Personal Statement
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Personal Statement
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 CSU Application
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Application
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Graphing
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Memory & Concentration     
Oct. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Operations on Decimals
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Factoring
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 16, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Writing Research Papers
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158 – Polishing and Proofreading an Essay
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Applying for the Jack Kent Cooke and All-USA Scholarships
 
iStudent Workshops
Oct. 16, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Is Writing “Thank You” Letter Dead?
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Memory and Concentration
Oct. 18, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Is Writing “Thank You” Letter Dead?
Oct. 22, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – How to get Involved!
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Flu Shot Clinic
Oct. 17, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 205
Oct. 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
The Great California ShakeOut
Oct. 18, 10:18 am, All Campuses - Drop, Cover and Hold On during the drill!
Sign-up as an individual participant: www.shakeout.org        Remember – “ShakeOut. Don’t Freak Out.”
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
SGA ShakeOut BBQ
Oct. 18, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad Area
Staff and students will be surveyed on the outcome of the Great California ShakeOut 2012!
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Candidate Meet & Greet: MSJC Board of Trustees candidate, Tom Ashley
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Hosted by the faculty associations and political science club
For more information contact Stacey Searl-Chapin at 951-639-5685 or schapin@msjc.edu
 
Institutional Program Review Committee Meeting
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Oct. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at shayshayni@gmail.com
 
Student Economic Association Meeting
Oct. 18, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization Meeting
Oct. 18, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 18, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture: Sexuality & Society
Pablo Picasso: His Art and Sexuality
Oct. 18, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center, 2345 Searl Pkwy, Hemet
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Honors Faculty Training Workshop
Oct. 19, 9:30 am, MVC Rm. 1012
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Production: The Odd Couple
Oct. 19, 20, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Oct. 21, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Box Office: 951-487-3790
For more information contact Jane Wilder-O’Connor at 951-487-3791or joconnor@msjc.edu
 
Journalism Club Students Seek Input
Oct. 19 – First Deadline!
The editor of the new student newspaper “The Talon” hopes MSJC faculty and students will contribute articles
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu or msjctalon@gmail.com
 
Komen Race for the Cure
Oct. 21, 2012  Promenade Mall, Temecula
Join Team MSJC!
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6466 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 23, 12:45 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu or Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing for October – December
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Webinar Training: Preventing Harassment, Discrimination and Retaliation in the Academic Setting/Environment
Nov. 30, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu