Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-2-2012

Weekly Round-Up 10-2-2012

Bookstore Fall Sale
Oct. 1 – 4, MVC & SJC
Employees take 20% off the marked price on all general merchandise!
For more information contact Fred Frontino at 951-487-3137 or ffrontino@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Operations on Fractions
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Operations on Fractions     
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Word Problems - Mixture
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Test Taking Tips
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Oct. 2, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Prioritize Your Life
Oct. 3, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Networking for Success
Oct. 4, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Prioritize Your Life
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
ShakeOut 2012 T-Shirt Sale
Ends Oct. 3
Send your name and T-shirt size to Fred Frontino at ffrontino@msjc.edu
Make $7 cash or check payment to MSJC cashiers
 
Study Abroad Workshop: Salamanca Spain
Oct. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Students who participate, Feb. 14-Apr. 27, 2013, will take advantage of unique opportunities of living and studying in Spain
For more information contact Shartelle Fears at 951-639-5261 or sfears@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Oct. 3, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Oct. 3, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Brown Bag Lunches
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Join Dr. Schultz and the Executive Cabinet for a budget update and what is happening in Sacrament and what it means to MSJC
For more information contact Kathy Donnell at 951-487-3002 or kdonnell@msjc.edu
 
Meet & Greet: Board of Trustees Candidate Guy Romero
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
An informal event hosted by the Faculty Association, Associate Faculty Association and Political Science Club.
Due to a scheduling conflict, candidate Tom Ashley could not attend this event but another Meet & Greet for Ashley is being planned.
For more information contact Stacey Searl-Chapin at 951-639-5685 or schapin@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at shayshayni@gmail.com
 
Diversity Committee Meeting
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 855/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Valerie Reed at 951-639-5690 or vreed@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 814 – Advanced Library Research
Oct. 8, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Preparation for the UCI Student Research Conference      
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Writing a Research Paper
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 UC Application
Oct. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B CSU Application
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 UC Personal Statement
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Personal Statement
 
Congressional Candidate Forum
Oct. 4, 12:45 pm, SJC Theatre
Candidate forum with Mark Orozco, Democratic candidate for the 42nd State Assembly District
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Student Economic Association Meeting
Oct. 4, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization (EVDO) Meeting
Oct. 4, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805 / SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 4, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at shayshayni@gmail.com
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 4, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 504 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Working Through the Writing Process
Oct. 8, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 504 – How Not to Plagiarize
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Curriculum Committee Meeting
Oct. 8, 3:30 pm MVC Rm. 814
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Economic Forum
Oct. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Economics Department presents W. Denis Nurmela, Author of “Saturday Morning CEO”
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
The Great California ShakeOut
Oct. 18, 10:18 am
Sign-up as an individual participant: www.shakeout.org        Remember – “ShakeOut. Don’t Freak Out.”
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Komen Race for the Cure
Oct. 21, 2012  Promenade Mall, Temecula
Join Team MSJC!
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6466 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Support the MSJC Cheer Squad: Buy a Calendar
Help support the MSJC Cheer Squad!  The squad’s  2012-13 calendar is full of amazing photos at only $10 a piece!
Please help support the squad by purchasing your annual calendar today.  If you are interested, please contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu or Pascaline Barry-Grooms at pbarry@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Partners with WeTip
The Business Services department Risk Management staff announces this partnership to help support a crime free campus
For more information contact Kara McGee, Risk Management Coordinator, at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Summer Energy Conservation
In partnership with Southern California Edison, and in an effort to control energy costs, please manually shut-off all thermostats and unnecessary power, including electronics in your area, at the end of your work week.
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Grant Funding Availability
Grant funding opportunities that may help match a funding source to your program/project needs
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu
 
Enhanced Classified Senate Website
Learn more about who we are, what we do and what we have planned!
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu