Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-29-2013

Weekly Round-Up 10-29-2013

Eagle Day – College Fair 2013
Oct. 29, 10:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B
New and prospective students and their families can obtain information about our programs and services
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Guest Speaker
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The Honorable Judge Jorge C. Hernandez will speak about “Becoming a Leader in the Community in the Midst of Adversities”
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Algebraic Fractions
Oct. 29, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 –  Insightful Hints on Math Anxiety
Oct. 30, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Operations on Decimals
Oct. 31, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Conversions
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Metric System
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Midterm Preparations
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Stress & Anxiety
Oct. 31, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Midterm Preparations
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Exploring Careers
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Staying Focused
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Stress Management
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Oral Communication & Presentations
Nov. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Interview Skills
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 29, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Commas
Oct. 30, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250D – Essay Outlines
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Photography Department Guest Speaker
Oct. 29, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Local professional photographer Karl Kravats will share his product photography…Food as Art!
For more information contact Keith Hanz at 951-639-5546 or khanz@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – UC Application
Oct. 31, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – CSU Application
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – UC Personal Statement Workshop
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Oct. 30, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Made in L.A.
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 30, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Haunted Hospital
Oct. 30, 5:00 pm, MVC Building 500
The Nursing & Allied Health Unit faculty, staff and students will be holding this Halloween event!
For more information contact Janet Brandenburg at 951-639-5557 or jbrandenburg@msjc.edu
 
Halloween Decorating & Costume Contest
Oct. 31, 9:00 am – Noon, MVC & SJC
The Classified Senate is holding its annual decorating and costume contest
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Dia De Los Muertos
Oct. 31, 12:30 pm, SJC Quad
The Puente Club presents Dia De Los Muertos – Day of the Dead
For more information contact Miranda Angeles at 951-487-3259 or mangeles@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Nov. 1, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
MSJC 2014 Academy - Call for Proposals
Due Nov. 1, 2013
 
Into the Future Conference
Nov. 2, 8:00 am, SJC Theatre
MSJC partners with the San Jacinto Unified School District for the 6th Annual conference
For more information contact Escarlet Wirth at 951-487-3256 or ewirth@msjc.edu
 
Wellness Hike
Nov. 2, 9:00 am, Leave MVC for Santa Rosa Plateau
Faculty FLEX wellness hike
For more information contact Fadi Nasr at 951-639-5752 or fnasr@msjc.edu
 
Zumba Party
Nov. 2, 10:00 am, SJC Quad
Hosted by the Puente Club, tickets are on sale now: one for $10, two for $15
For more information contact Miranda Angeles at 951-487-3259 or mangeles@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagle Big Bands
Nov. 3, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Featuring the music of one of America’s great arrangers, Sammy Nestico
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Video Production Class Filming on Campus
Nov. 4, SJC
Students will be out looking for classrooms, departments and campus locations to film a video project
For more information contact David Parrott at 951-487-3665 or dparrott@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Nov. 4, 3:45 pm, SJC Rm. 1214
Research Design and Writing Hypothesis
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Nov. 5 – Dec. 13, SJC Art Gallery
“Dorland Mountain Artist Colony Associate Artists Exhibition”
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Retirement Celebration Honoring Becky Mitchell
Nov. 5, 12:00 pm, SJC 200 Building Courtyard
Nov. 7, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bendiceme Ultima (2013) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Ends Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu