Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-8-2013

Weekly Round-Up 10-8-2013

Brandman Celebration Day
Oct. 8, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad Area
Celebrate Student Success!
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu or Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Meeting
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshops
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at lsims@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Test Taking Tips
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Test Taking Tips
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Ratio, Rates & Proportions
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B - Exponent Rules
Oct. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Word Problems
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu or Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – UC Personal Statement
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974 – CSU Application
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A/MVC Rm. 974  - UC Personal Statement
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 – Nursing Transfer: Generic BSN
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Transferring: Know the Facts
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Mid-Term Preparation
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Transferring: Know the Facts
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – How to get Involved!
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm.805
“Intouchables” (2011) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Flu Shot Clinic
Oct. 9, 9:30-11:30 am, SJC Rm. 200
Oct., 9, 1:00-3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 9, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Essay Exam Writing
Oct. 9, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Thesis
Oct. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Writing Research Papers
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Reading and Metacognition
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 9, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Essay Exam Writing
Oct. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Writing a Research Paper
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Metacognition
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 9, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Oct. 10, 5:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Guest speaker Jake Lanphere, Ph.D candidate, Chemical & Environmental Engineering
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club: The Garden of Secrets
Oct. 10 – 18, MVC 400 Bldg.
In recognition of Mental Health Awareness Week
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
MVC Performing Arts together with the Fine Arts Network Present: PIPPIN
Oct. 10 - 27, Old Town Temecula Community Theatre
PIPPIN is the 2013 Tony Award Winner for Best Musical Revival! For tickets call 866-653-8696
New discounts for students and teachers: $10 Saturday Only!
For more information contact Lori Torok at 951-639-5630 or ltorok@msjc.edu
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
Oct. 11, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Tetrix Metal Robotics
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Halloween Decorating Contest Begins!
Oct. 14th, MVC & SJC
The Classified Senate is holding its annual decorating and costume contest
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Author Reading
Oct. 15, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 407
Paula Priamos, author of the memoir, The Shyster’s Daughter
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
SGA Mental Health Awareness BBQ’s
Oct. 15, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
Oct. 17, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Campus clubs will present information on various mental illnesses  
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
MVC Book of the Month Club
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, by Ayana Mathis
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Films
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
“Battle for Syria” and “The Regime Response”
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Community Outreach Art Exhibition: a.r.t.e.r.y.
Now through Oct. 17, SJC Art Gallery
Art Gallery Hours: M-Th 10am – 4pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Presents: William Shakespeare’s “The Taming of the Shrew”
Oct. 18, 19, 25, 26 @ 7:30 pm, Oct. 20 & 27 @ 2:30 pm, SJC Studio Theatre
Directed by Paul Jacques, costume design by Cherie Riley, set design by Darren De Priest
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Race for the Cure
Oct. 20th Promenade Mall, Temecula
You may register up until Oct. 14, but risk not getting an MSJC t-shirt. Race packets will be distributed Oct. 16th @ MVC and Oct. 17th @ SJC.
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
Oct. 25, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, MVC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Motorcycle Run
Oct. 26, 7:30 am, MVC to SJC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Community BBQ & Homecoming Football Game
Oct. 26, 11:30 am, SJC Stadium
Community BBQ, sponsored by the Soboba Foundation. Free with paid admission to the Homecoming Football Game
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Pink October
In support of breast cancer awareness month, the MSJC Komen Race Committee is asking everyone to wear pink on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the month of October.
 
MSJC 2014 Academy - Call for Proposals
Due Nov. 1, 2013
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu