Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-9-2012

Weekly Round-Up 10-9-2012

Journalism Club Students Seek Input
Oct. 19 – First Deadline!
The editor of the new student newspaper “The Talon” hopes MSJC faculty and students will contribute articles
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu or msjctalon@gmail.com
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing for October – December
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Newsletter
October 2012
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Webinar: Open Educational Resources Faculty Training-Three Successful Models
Oct. 9, 10:00 am, CCC Confer
Free Webinar! How three faculty development models drive the use of open textbooks and OER to improve instructional outcomes
For more information contact Micah Orloff at 951-639-5449 or morloff@msjc.edu
 
Brown Bag Lunch
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Join Dr. Schultz and the Executive Cabinet for a budget update and what is happening in Sacramento and what it means to MSJC
For more information contact Kathy Donnell at 951-487-3002 or kdonnell@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Scientific Calculators
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Systems of Equations     
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Word Problems - Investment
Oct. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Time Management
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Oct. 9, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Midterm Preparation
Oct. 11, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Time Management
Oct. 11, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Midterm Preparation
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Memory and Concentration
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Stress Management
Oct. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research Follow-Up      
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Study Skills
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 UC Personal Statement
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Personal Statement
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 UC Application
Oct. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B CSU Application
 
Economic Forum
Oct. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Economics Department presents W. Denis Nurmela, Author of “Saturday Morning CEO”
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
FAFSA Workshop
Oct. 10, 4:00 pm, TEC Rm. 208
The Financial Aid department offers free assistance for students filling out the 2012-2013 FAFSA
For more information contact Michelle Daniely at 951-639-5238 or mdaniely@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Oct. 10, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Beautiful Truth
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Webinar: Employing Temporary Employees
Oct. 12, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
When and how a college has a right to employ temporary employees; short term, substitutes and professional experts
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Oct. 12, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Film
Oct. 12, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Saboteur (1942)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Production: The Odd Couple
Oct. 12, 13, 19, 20, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Oct. 14, 21, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Box Office: 951-487-3790
For more information contact Jane Wilder-O’Connor at 951-487-3791or joconnor@msjc.edu
 
STEM Flapjack Fundraiser
Oct. 13, 8:00 am, Applebee’s 2515 E. Florida Avenue, Hemet
You’re invited to a pancake breakfast to support STEM
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Polishing and Proofreading an Essay
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 16, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Writing Research Papers
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
World Cinema: Gringuito
Oct. 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Lecture: Forensic Anthropology
Oct. 15, 5 pm, MVC Rm. 415
The Anthropology Club is hosting its first lecture of the Fall semester
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Economic Film: The Manchurian Candidate
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
Brandman University Scholarship Information Session
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Brandman and MSJC partner to offer our employees the opportunity to further their education
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Home by Toni Morrison
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
The Great California ShakeOut
Oct. 18, 10:18 am
Sign-up as an individual participant: www.shakeout.org        Remember – “ShakeOut. Don’t Freak Out.”
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Komen Race for the Cure
Oct. 21, 2012  Promenade Mall, Temecula
Join Team MSJC!
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6466 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Support the MSJC Cheer Squad: Buy a Calendar
Help support the MSJC Cheer Squad!  The squad’s  2012-13 calendar is full of amazing photos at only $10 a piece!
Please help support the squad by purchasing your annual calendar today.  If you are interested, please contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu or Pascaline Barry-Grooms at pbarry@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Partners with WeTip
The Business Services department Risk Management staff announces this partnership to help support a crime free campus
For more information contact Kara McGee, Risk Management Coordinator, at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Summer Energy Conservation
In partnership with Southern California Edison, and in an effort to control energy costs, please manually shut-off all thermostats and unnecessary power, including electronics in your area, at the end of your work week.
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu
 
Enhanced Classified Senate Website
Learn more about who we are, what we do and what we have planned!
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu