Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-20-2012

Weekly Round-Up 11-20-2012

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!
 
HR Reminder for the Thanksgiving Holiday Work Week
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
 
Planned Network Outage
Nov. 24, 5:00 am – 10:00 am, All Campuses
Information Technology will be performing a firewall upgrade impacting all web services and telephone communications
For more information contact Brian Orlauski at 951-639-5080 or borlauski@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date: Business Services Department Annual Open House
Dec. 10, 11:30 – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Dec. 12, 11:30 – 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Jennifer Marrs at 951-487-3011 or jmarrs@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club hosting Children’s Book Drive
Now through Dec. 14th
Help bring literacy to a child whose school is struggling to provide enough books
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
MSJC Academy Call for Proposals
If you are interested in presenting, complete the proposal form:
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Budrus                                                                                                                                                                               
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Honors Faculty Training Workshop
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
West Point Military Academy Presentation
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Cadet Sergeants Trent Reece and Peter Lee will offer a presentation on attending West Point Military Academy
For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5397 or espurbeck@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using MLA
Nov. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Pronoun Errors
Nov. 26, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Understanding MLA
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Ratio Rate Proportions
Nov. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Factor Polynomials
Nov. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – U.S. Customary System of Measurement and Conversions     
Nov. 27, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211- Solve Quadratic Equations
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using MLA
Nov. 27, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – UCI Student Research Conference Preparation
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 NaceLINK
 
iStudent Workshops
Nov. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Manners Matter
Nov. 27, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Financial Management Skills
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: A.R.T.E.R.Y. “1000 Hours: Measuring Time”
Ends Nov. 21st, SJC Art Gallery
Art, Recognition, Transition, Education, Reciprocation, Youth exhibit runs through Nov. 21st
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
iPad Giveaway for Students
Ride RTA and Win an iPad
Winner will be chosen Nov. 26th
For more information contact Susan Loomis at 951-639-5212 or sloomis@msjc.edu
 
Curriculum Committee Meeting
Nov. 26, 3:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305
For more information contact Angela Seavey at 951-487-3402 or aseavey@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Lecture
Nov. 26, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Major Issues in Human Origins Research featuring guest speaker Dr. Niewoehner of Cal State San Bernardino
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer presents: Kinesiology
Nov. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Students will learn about the Kinesiology industry and obtain degree information
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program presents Fall Film Festival
Nov. 27, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Panel discussions and Q&A: student films covering themes as diverse as hooka, raves, metal bands, scientology and the Hemet music scene
For more information contact Paul Hendry at 951-487-3649 or phendry@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Nov. 27, 12:45 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
STEM Faculty Inquiry Group Meeting
Nov. 27, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Webinar Training: Preventing Harassment, Discrimination and Retaliation in the Academic Setting/Environment
Nov. 30, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Advanced Labor Negotiations Roundtable
Dec. 7, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
PTK Holiday Food & Toy Drive Nominations Wanted
Deadline Dec. 19th
Nominate students with families that need a little extra support during the holidays!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Early Time Sheet Notification for Holidays
Certificated Substitutes, Hourly Certificated, Professional Experts, Stipends and Special Projects employees
For more information contact Teri Jerabek, Payroll Department, at 951-487-3050 or tjerabek@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Program Accepting Applications for Spring 2013
Students are encouraged to submit the application as soon as possible. Space is limited!
For more information contact Ketmani Kouanchao at 951-487-3290 or kkouanchao@msjc.edu
 
STEM Club Smart Card iPhone Fundraiser
With a one-year Smart Card membership of only $30, you’ll receive discounts with over 700 local places in Temecula & Murrieta, and the STEM Club will receive 50% back from each card sold!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735
 
MSJC Wins Best College in Readers Choice Awards!
This marks the 4th year that MSJC earns the top spot in The Press-Enterprise awards
 
Salary schedules are now available on the HR website
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing through December
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu