Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-6-2012

Weekly Round-Up 11-6-2012

iPad Giveaway for Students
Ride RTA and Win an iPad
Nov.6th through Nov. 25th
Winner will be chosen Nov. 26th
For more information contact Susan Loomis at 951-639-5212 or sloomis@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Program Accepting Applications for Spring 2013
Students are encouraged to submit the application as soon as possible. Space is limited!
For more information contact Ketmani Kouanchao at 951-487-3290 or kkouanchao@msjc.edu
 
Early Time Sheet Notification for Holidays
Certificated Substitutes, Hourly Certificated, Professional Experts, Stipends and Special Projects employees
For more information contact Teri Jerabek, Payroll Department, at 951-487-3050 or tjerabek@msjc.edu
 
Administrative Procedures Recently Approved
The website/manual has been updated to reflect the changes
Also approved: BP 3506 – Automated External Defibrillator (AED) – 10/11/12
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
Honors Faculty Training Workshop
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1012
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Word Problems - Translate
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Basic Geometry     
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Exponent Rules
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Quadratic Equations
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Nov. 6, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Networking for Success
Nov. 7, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Staying Focused!
Nov. 8, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Networking for Success
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600 – Preparation to go to a 4-Year University
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Oral Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Nov. 7, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 453
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 UC Application
Nov. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B CSU Application
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 CSU Application
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B UC Application
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Nov. 7, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@mjsc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Nov. 7, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
9500 Liberty
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Center Grand Opening
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158 – Mastering APA (Questions & Answers)
Nov. 13, 8:30 am, MVC Rm. 652 – Annotated Bibliography
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Spirit of Enlightenment Lecture: Large Hadron Collider
Nov. 8, 7:00 pm, San Jacinto High School Theatre
For more information contact Mike Rose at 951-487-3255 or mrose@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture: Sexuality & Society
Nov. 8, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center Rm. A
The Body Language of Flirting and Courtship
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
ENO Board Training
Nov. 9, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 484
Go from markers to multimedia, ink to internet!
For more information contact Rose Russell at 951-639-5421 or rrussell@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Nov. 9,11:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
History & Humanities Film
Nov. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Lifeboat (1943)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Presents: The Comedy of Errors
Nov. 9, 10, 16, 17, 7:30 pm
Nov. 11, 18, 2:30 pm SJC Theatre
Shakespeare weaves the farcical situations that occur when Antipholus goes in search of his long lost twin brother with the help of his servant, Dromio.
Box Office: 951-487-3790
For more information contact Lorney O’Connor at 951-487-3791or loconnor@msjc.edu
 
Veteran’s Day Holiday
Nov. 12, All Campuses
The District will revert back to the 5 day 8 hour per day work week schedule Nov. 12 – Nov. 16
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
 
Visiting Writers Series Author Reading: Duff Brenna
Nov. 13, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 407
Award-Winning Novelist, Duff Brenna, will read from his memoir, Murdering the Mom
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Basic Skills Committee Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Economic Film Series
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Too Big to Fail
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
Career & Tech Ed Workshop
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101
For more information contact Jeri Siqueiros at 951-487-3437 or jerisiqueiros@gmail.com
 
MVC Site Council Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 13, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Machuca (2004) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Environmental Conservation Conference
Nov. 15, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 928
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Holiday Food Drive
Now through Nov. 19, All Campuses
Sponsored by the Classified Senate
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: A.R.T.E.R.Y. “1000 Hours: Measuring Time”
Now through Nov. 21st, SJC Art Gallery
Art, Recognition, Transition, Education, Reciprocation, Youth exhibit runs through Nov. 21st
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Webinar Training: Preventing Harassment, Discrimination and Retaliation in the Academic Setting/Environment
Nov. 30, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Advanced Labor Negotiations Roundtable
Dec. 7, 9:00 am, CCC Confer
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
STEM Club Smart Card iPhone Fundraiser
With a one-year Smart Card membership of only $30, you’ll receive discounts with over 700 local places in Temecula & Murrieta, and the STEM Club will receive 50% back from each card sold!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing through December
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu