Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-10-2013

Weekly Round-Up 12-10-2013

Santa’s in the SJC LRC until 2pm today handing out candy canes to students!
 
Classified Holiday Luncheon
Save the Date! Dec. 23, 11:00 am – 1:30 pm, SJC Cafeteria
RSVP to Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Mileage Decrease Begins Jan. 1, 2014
Mileage rate for transportation down one half cent; 56 cents per mile starting January 1
 
Photography Exhibition
Dec. 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
Exhibition of advanced student and professional production class photography work; Open House – Dec. 12, @ 5pm
For more information contact Melissa Ott at 951-639-5684 or mott@msjc.edu
 
SGA BBQ’s
Dec. 10, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
Dec. 12, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Learn about human rights issues, hosted by Student Government Association and Amnesty International
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566/951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshops
Dec. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 972
Dec. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Pizza and engineering film: The Great Robot Race
For more information contact Leticia Luna-Sims at lsims@msjc.edu
 
Auditions: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Dec. 10 & 11, 6:00 – 10:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
Pat James Retirement Celebration
Dec. 11, 11:30 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Shelley Excell-Wertman at 951-639-5441 or swertman@msjc.edu
 
Superintendent/President’s Office Winter Open House
Dec. 11, 1:00 – 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Dec. 11, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Dec. 11, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – MLA and APA Questions
Dec. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Grammar Brush Up
Dec. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Rhonda Dixon’s Retirement Party
Dec. 12, 11:30 am – 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1456A
A celebration of Rhonda’s retirement!
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Multimedia Lecture Series
Dec. 12, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 927
Best Electives: ‘Our Class is Full! Now What?’
For more information contact Don Smith at 951-639-5545 or dsmith@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshop
Dec. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 1217- Resume & Cover Letter
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshop
Dec. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
STEM Student Symposium
Dec. 12, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
STEM students will showcase their projects
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at lsims@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Ends Dec. 13, SJC Art Gallery
“Dorland Mountain Artist Colony Associate Artists Exhibition”
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
The 24-Hour Project
Dec. 14, 8:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Student and faculty playwrights are given a theme, costume piece and prop to compose a 10-minute play in 24 hours
For more information contact Lori Torok at 951-639-5630 or ltorok@msjc.edu
 
Orchestra Holiday Concert
Dec. 15, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Holiday concert with sounds of the season
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
CARE Giving Tree
Dec. 16 Deadline, SJC EOPS/CARE, MVC Counseling
Grab a tag from the giving tree(s) and drop off unwrapped gifts to SJC EOPS/CARE, MVC Counseling
For more information contact Elicinda Manzanilla-Renteria at 951-487-3292 or erenteria@msjc.edu
 
IPRC Meeting
Dec. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
Institutional Program Review Committee
For more information contact Debbie Grace at 951-487-3075 or dgrace@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band & Trombone Choir
Dec. 17, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
A winter concert will be presented by the MSJC Concert Band and Trombone Choir
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Judging for Holiday Decorating Contest
Dec. 19, Time to be announced, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
PTK Toy & Food Drive
Ends Dec. 19, MVC, SJC, TEC
Phi Theta Kappa will be collecting donations for their Holiday Food and Toy Drive
For more information contact the PTK Office at 951-487-3276 or PR Officer Myesha Williams at mwilliams268@student.msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Newsletter
 
CTE Monthly Feature
December 2013: New AS-T Degree in Computer Science
 
Business Services Contact List
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
Summer 2014 Department of Energy Internship/Fellowship Opportunity
 
Time to start phasing out the 50th Anniversary Logo
December is the last month we can use MSJC’s 50th anniversary logo. If you are creating a flier now for a January event, please revert back to the official college logo. Find all logos at www.msjc.edu/logo
Or look on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu