Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-3-2013

Weekly Round-Up 12-3-2013

Goodwill Drive Fundraiser
Now through Dec. 7, MVC & SJC
Hosted by the Classified Senate, donations will help raise money for scholarships, classified development and other activities
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 941-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
CARE Giving Tree
Dec. 16 Deadline, SJC EOPS/CARE, MVC Counseling
Grab a tag from the giving tree(s) and drop off unwrapped gifts to SJC EOPS/CARE, MVC Counseling
For more information contact Elicinda Manzanilla-Renteria at 951-487-3292 or erenteria@msjc.edu
 
PTK Toy & Food Drive
Now through Dec. 19, MVC, SJC, TEC
Phi Theta Kappa will be collecting donations for their Holiday Food and Toy Drive
For more information contact the PTK Office at 951-487-3276 or PR Officer Myesha Williams at mwilliams268@student.msjc.edu
 
Charles Hawkins Retirement Celebration
Dec. 3, 10:30 am, MVC Rm. 805
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Building 200 Courtyard
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Club Legislative Forum
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Guest speaker is 67th District Assembly Woman Melissa Melendez
For more information contact Robert Valenzuela at rvalenzuela274@student.msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Stress Management
Dec. 3, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Essay Exam Preparation
Dec. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Panic Reduction
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 411 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Finals Preparation
Dec. 4 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Finals Preparation
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Finals Preparation
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Dec. 3, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Essay Exam Preparation
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Proofreading and Editing
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 411 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Gilman Springs Road Closure
Ends Dec. 4
Gilman Springs Road will be closed October 21 – December 4, 2013 to through traffic between SR-60 and Bridge Street
 
Ceramics Club Holiday Sale
Dec. 4 & 5, 9:00 am – 2:30 pm, MVC in front of LRC
Handmade pottery, jewelry and crafts make great gifts!
For more information contact Susan Giacalone at 951-639-5582 or sgiacalone@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Dec. 4, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Brandman University Information Sessions
Dec. 4, 12:30 – 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Dec. 4, 3:30 – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Find out about exclusive scholarships for MSJC employees!
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3156 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Dec. 4, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
“A History of the Human Rights”
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Dec. 4, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
SART/DV Assembly
Dec. 5, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
PTK hosts Sexual Assault Response Team/Domestic Violence assembly
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshop
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 1217- Difference Between UC/CSU
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 1217 – Choosing a Major
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Dec. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjcj.edu
 
CSEA MOU Information Meeting
Dec. 5, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
Furlough MOU and step restoration
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Dec. 5, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Food & Culture: Food in Art
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Concert Week
Dec. 5 – 8, MVC Lab Theatre
Dec. 5 & 6, 7:30 pm - Jazz Ensemble
Dec. 7, 2:00 pm – Guitar Ensemble
Dec. 7, 7:30 pm – Campus Singers
Dec. 8, 2:00 pm – Music Student Showcase
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
History Film Festival
Dec. 6, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
The Searchers (1956)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Dance Concert
Dec. 6, 7:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1952 (Dance Studio above gym)
re-start: a dance sharing of student choreography, tickets $5 at the box office or at the door the day of event
For more information contact Susan Roginski at sroginski@msjc.edu
 
Auditions: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Dec. 9, 6:00 – 9:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Dec. 10, 6:00 – 10:00 pm, “    “
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
Photography Exhibition
Dec. 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
Exhibition of advanced student and professional production class photography work; Open House – Dec. 12, @ 5pm
For more information contact Melissa Ott at 951-639-5684 or mott@msjc.edu
 
SGA BBQ’s
Dec. 10, 12:00 MVC Quad
Dec. 12, 12:00 SJC Quad
Learn about human rights issues, hosted by Student Government Association and Amnesty International
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566/951-487-3267 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Dec. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 972
Pizza and engineering film: The Great Robot Race
For more information contact Leticia Luna-Sims at lsims@msjc.edu
 
Pat James Retirement Celebration
Dec. 11 – Save the Date & Send any photos you may have of Pat!
11:30 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Shelley Excell-Wertman at 951-639-5441 or swertman@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Ends Dec. 13, SJC Art Gallery
“Dorland Mountain Artist Colony Associate Artists Exhibition”
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Business Services Contact List
 
@ONE 2014 Online Teaching Conference – Call for Proposals
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@ONE2014%20Online%20Teaching%20Conference.pdf
 
Affordable Care Act & Covered California
What is happening with the future of Health Insurance?
 
Spring 2014 Online Admissions Application
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
Summer 2014 Department of Energy Internship/Fellowship Opportunity
 
Time to start phasing out the 50th Anniversary Logo
December is the last month we can use MSJC’s 50th anniversary logo. If you are creating a flier now for a January event, please revert back to the official college logo. Find all logos at www.msjc.edu/logo
Or look on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu