Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 2-5-2013

Weekly Round-Up 2-5-2013

MSJC Foundation Gala,  purchase tickets by noon today
The Foundation’s Gala to celebrate 50 years of MSJC is Saturday, Feb. 9 at the Pechanga Resort in Temecula.  Alumni performances, the MSJC Menifee Jazz Ensemble, dance band Kicks, silent auction and the premiere of the video about MSJC’s history are all part of the fun. You’ll help raise money for student scholarships, faculty mini-grants and other philanthropic endeavors to support MSJC and its students.
To purchase tickets call 951-487-3171 or visit www.msjc.edu/gala . Paypal is available.
 
Black History Month Film
Feb. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Harlem on the Range (1939)
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Feb. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
Feb. 6, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Feb. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshop
Feb. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
Feb. 7, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
Scholarships & Money for College (Part 1)
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Feb. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Grammar Questions
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Feb. 5, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Classified Brown Bag Lunch
Feb. 6, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
The agenda will include the Governor’s budget proposal, policy shifts and discussion on local MSJC issues
For more information contact Kathy Donnell at 951-487-3002 or kdonnell@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Feb. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111          MBTI/Strong
Feb. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102          Choosing a Major
Feb. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111        Eagle Career Connection
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Feb. 6, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series: Imperialism & Colonialism
Feb. 7, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center
High Imperialism in the Age of High Technology: The European Measure of the World (1870-1914)
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Mathematics Colloquium
Feb. 8, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 658
Halmos, Sections 19-21
For more information contact Michael Beckham at mbeckham@msjc.edu
 
History & Humanities Film Festival
Feb. 8, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
The Wedding Banquet (1993)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Hemet Harmonizers
Feb. 9 & 10, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
The Hemet Harmonizers along with the SunLakes Chorus present “The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi” – A collection of Love Songs
For more information contact the Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Math Workshop: Scientific Calculators
Feb. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Feb. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Art Exhibit: “Textures Fiber Arts”
Ends Feb. 21, SJC Art Gallery
The exhibit features contemporary art quilts made by Textures, a regional group of fiber artists
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Career Technical Education Staff Retreat
Feb. 22, 9:00 am – 2:00 pm, Soboba Springs Country Club
Molding the Future Workforce through Innovation and Learning
For more information contact Susanne Mata at 951-487-3435 or smata@msjc.edu
 
Paws for the Cure – Save the Date!
Feb. 23, 2013, 8:00 am – Noon, Murrieta Town Square Park
Join Team MSJC Ma and Paws!
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
San Jacinto Valley Women’s Conference
Feb. 28, 8:00 am – 3:00 pm, Soboba Springs Country Club
Buy your tickets now!
For more information contact Kathleen Osborne at 951-378-5737
 
Submissions for Flight
Mar. 1 Deadline
Students can submit their writing or visual art for publication in MSJC’s Flight
For more information contact Richard Sisk at 951-487-3646 or rsisk@msjc.edu
 
Human Resources Training/Workshops
Mar. 8, 9:00 am – Noon, Video Conference                     Advanced Investigations of Harassment Complaints in Community College Districts
Mar. 8, 1:00 pm, - 4 pm, Video Conference                       Workplace Bullying: A Growing Concern
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Eagle Career Connection
Career & Technical Education announces a new online job database
For more information contact Kristen Burleson at 951-639-5258 or kburleson@msjc.edu
 
Relay for Life
For more information contact Nik Warren at nwarren826@student.edu
 
Free Courses
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing January – March, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu