Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-12-2013

Weekly Round-Up 3-12-2013

Women’s History Month Lecture: MissRepresentation-The Psychology and Consequences of Gender Roles in America
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
An excerpt from the documentary will be shown, followed by a discussion led by Professors Maria Lopez, Psychology, and Tamara Smith, History
For more information contact Susan King at 951-487-3471 or sking@msjc.edu
 
SGA Student’s General Assembly
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Students will be informed about important services that are available
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
PTK Scholars-In-Action Academic Decathlon Team Preliminary Rounds
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 156 The Writing Process/Writing an Essay
Mar. 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 Reading Tips that Work
Mar. 13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Thesis
Mar. 14, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Avoiding Plagiarism
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
Or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111, Resume/Cover Letter Workshop
Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974, Resume/Cover Letter Workshop
Mar. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111, MBTI Strong
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
Or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Transferring: Know the Facts
Mar. 14, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 Transferring: Know the Facts
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Taking Charge of Your Education
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Mar. 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu or Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Mar. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 409
Mar. 13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 814
Insightful Hints on Word Problems
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Mar. 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Mar. 13, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Palestine is Still the Issue
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Art Marketing for Students and Emerging Artists - Virtual Panel Discussion
Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
A virtual panel discussion on effectively marketing your artwork via the internet
For more information contact John Seed at 951-639-5580 or jseed@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Documentary Video Series
Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Mending Ways: The Canela Indians of Brazil
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. TBD
Bitter in the Mouth (320 pages) by Monica Truong
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Mar. 14, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Avoiding Plagiarism
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Stress Management
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Accreditation Follow Up Report Draft
March 14, Board of Trustees Action Item for approval and will then be submitted to the ACCJC on Friday, March 15, 2013
For more information contact Rebecca Teague at 951-487-3072 or rteague@msjc.edu
 
Joint Chair Committee Meeting
Mar. 15, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 355B
For more information contact Lorraine Slattery-Farrell at 951-487-3615 or lfarrell@msjc.edu
 
Scientology Center Tour
Mar. 15, 10:00 am, Scientology Center
The Diversity Committee has planned this tour of the Scientology media facilities
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meetings
Mar. 15, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Mar. 19, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meetings
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Commencement Regalia Orders
Mar. 15, 12:00 pm Deadline
Changes to last years’ orders or new orders must be received by March 15th
Email Jill Lanphere no later than Mar. 15, at jlanphere@msjc.edu
 
History & Humanities Film Festival
Mar. 15, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
American Sign Language Movie Fundraiser
Mar. 15, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Mar. 16, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Mar. 16, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
All proceeds go to the ASL Department for this second biennial movie event
For more information contact Leslie Greer at 951-639-5399 or lgreer@msjc.edu
 
Into the Future Conference
Mar. 16, 8:00 am, SJC Theatre
To encourage parents, students and community members in the San Jacinto School District to attend MSJC
For more information contact Escarlet Wirth at 951-487-3256 or ewirth@msjc.edu
 
Religious Understanding Day
Mar. 16, 9:00 am, SJC Library
Spirituality of the Earth
For more information contact Mike Madrigal at 951-654-2432
 
Trig-Star
Mar. 16, 9:00 am, SJC Gym
High School Math Competition
For more information contact Lori Benson at 951-639-5708 or lobenson@msjc.edu
 
Elect Her – Campus Women Win Training
Mar. 16, 10:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Program aims to increase the number of women running for office
For more information contact JoAnna Quejada at 951-639-5321 or jquejada@msjc.edu
 
SGA BBQ’s
Mar. 19, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Mar. 21, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Women’s History Month Lecture: Women, Witches, Sex and Violence!
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Guest speaker and women's history/gender specialist, Professor Gwendolyn Ulrich-Schlumbohm will address the public torture of women as a form of pornography in early modern England and Scotland.
For more information contact Susan King at 951-487-3471 or sking@msjc.edu or Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
Purchasing Cut-Off Date
Mar. 21, Noon
Mark your calendars! Purchasing cut-off is Thursday, March 21, 2013. All tangible purchase requisitions must be encumbered in Galaxy by noon. For more information contact Teri Sisco at 951-487-3110 or tsisco@msjc.edu or Tammy Cunningham at 951-487-3116 or tcunningham@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Show
Ends Mar. 21, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Building Dreams Free From Violence
Featuring art therapy pieces from Hemet Alternatives to Domestic Violence clients, introducing original works by Sarah Villegas
For more information contact the Art Gallery at 951-487-3585 or visit www.msjc.edu/artgallery
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Contracts Database
The file for viewing Contracts on the “P” drive is down for maintenance while Business Services conducts updates. It should be back up sometime this week and notification will go out when the file is available for access. While the database is offline, if you have any questions contact Karen Watts at 951-487-3013 or kwatts@msjc.edu  or Melissa Ochoa at 951-487-3031 or mochoa@msjc.edu
 
“Get Satisfaction” On-Line Support for Students
For more information contact Pat James at 951-639-5440 or pjames@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu