Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-5-2013

Weekly Round-Up 3-5-2013

Art Gallery Show
Now through Mar. 21, SJC Art Gallery
Building Dreams Free From Violence
Featuring art therapy pieces from Hemet Alternatives to Domestic Violence clients, introducing original works by Sarah Villegas
For more information contact the Art Gallery at 951-487-3585 or visit www.msjc.edu/artgallery
 
SERP (Supplemental Employee Retirement Plan) Individual Meetings
Mar. 5, 8am – 5pm, SJC Rm. 200
Mar. 6-7, 8am – 5pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
In Whose Honor
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Women’s History Month Lecture: Breaking the Silence!
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
A panel discussion on the physical and emotional consequences of domestic violence, with ADV (Alternatives to Domestic Violence) representatives Tricia Rayonez, Kimberly Bradley and MSJC Nursing/Allied Health Professor, Donivee Randall-Jones
For more information contact Susan King at 951-487-3471 or sking@msjc.edu or Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 Test Taking Tips
Mar. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm.409 Insightful Hints on Test Taking
Mar. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 409 Insightful Hints on Word Problems
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Scholarships
Mar. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Choosing a Major
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111, Resume/Cover Letter Workshop
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
Or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Transferring to a 4-Year Institution
Mar. 6, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C Reading and Metacognition
Mar. 6, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Essay Exam Preparation
Mar. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Writing a Research Paper
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Mar. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Getting Involved on Campus
Mar. 7, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 Getting Involved on Campus
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Transferring: Know the Facts
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Mar. 5, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
PTK All-USA Awards Luncheon
Mar. 6, Noon, Sacramento
Four students to receive statewide honors awards!
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Mar. 6, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C Reading and Metacognition
Mar. 6, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Essay Exam Preparation
Mar. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Writing Research Papers
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 156 The Writing Process/Writing an Essay
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
Or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
CalSTRS Workshops
Mar. 6, 2:30, SJC Rm. 200
Mar. 7, 2:30, MVC Rm. 805
Annual Workshops
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Mar. 6, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 205/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Mar. 6, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu
 
Women’s Self Defense Workshops
Mar. 7, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Mar. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Gym
Hosted by the Diversity Committee to honor Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day (Mar. 8)
For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu
Or Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Mar. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
SGA Student’s General Assembly
Mar. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Students will be informed about important services that are available
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Student Economic Association Lecture: Dr. John Husing
Mar. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dr. Husing will be discussing the economic outlook of the Inland Empire
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture: Dr. Paul Reiman
Mar. 7, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Dr. Reiman has offered expert medical advice for patients in the Temecula-Murrieta area for over 10 years
For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5398 or espurbeck@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture: Imperialism & Colonialism
Mar. 7, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center
Pandemic: Paving the Way for Colonialism
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Human Resources Training/Workshops
Mar. 8, 9:00 am – Noon, Video Conference                     Advanced Investigations of Harassment Complaints in Community College Districts
Mar. 8, 1:00 pm, - 4 pm, Video Conference                       Workplace Bullying: A Growing Concern
For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-487-3156 or fnobles@msjc.edu
 
The Face of the American Educator: Addressing the Latino Male Shortage
Mar. 9, 7:45 am, MVC
Presented by Cal State University San Marcos and Encuentros Leadership
For more information contact Nichol Roe at nroe@csusm.edu
 
Wellness Hike (FLEX)
Mar. 9, 9:00 am, MVC Parking Lot (meet), then to Santa Rosa Plateau
Wear comfortable walking shoes and bring water, snacks and lunch for this easy to moderate hike.
For more information contact Fadi Nasr at 951-639-5752 or fnasr@msjc.edu
 
Music Faculty Showcase
Mar. 10, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5790 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Mar. 11, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
“Il Postino” Italian (1994)
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Women’s History Month Lecture: MissRepresentation-The Psychology and Consequences of Gender Roles in America
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
An excerpt from the documentary will be shown, followed by a discussion led by Professors Maria Lopez, Psychology, and Tamara Smith, History
For more information contact Susan King at 951-487-3471 or sking@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
PTK Scholars-In-Action Academic Decathlon Team Preliminary Rounds
Mar. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Mar. 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
Accreditation Follow Up Report Draft
The Board of Trustees was provided with copies of the draft Accreditation Follow-Up Report for review/information. The report will be placed on the March 14, 2013 Board of Trustees meeting as an Action Item for approval and will then be submitted to the ACCJC on Friday, March 15, 2013.
For more information contact Rebecca Teague at 951-487-3072 or rteague@msjc.edu
 
Purchasing Cut-Off Date
Mar. 21, Noon
Mark your calendars! Purchasing cut-off is Thursday, March 21, 2013. All tangible purchase requisitions must be encumbered in Galaxy by noon. For more information contact Teri Sisco at 951-487-3110 or tsisco@msjc.edu or Tammy Cunningham at 951-487-3116 or tcunningham@msjc.edu
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Contracts Database
The file for viewing Contracts on the “P” drive is down for maintenance while Business Services conducts updates. It should be back up sometime this week and notification will go out when the file is available for access. While the database is offline, if you have any questions contact Karen Watts at 951-487-3013 or kwatts@msjc.edu  or Melissa Ochoa at 951-487-3031 or mochoa@msjc.edu
 
“Get Satisfaction” On-Line Support is Now Available for Students
For more information contact Pat James at 951-639-5440 or pjames@msjc.edu
 
Eagle Career Connection
Career & Technical Education announces a new online job database
For more information contact Kristen Burleson at 951-639-5258 or kburleson@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu