Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-16-2013

Weekly Round-Up 4-16-2013

Honors Nominations
Apr. 26 Deadline
Use the Honors Nomination Form to select a student for honors recognition:
For more information contact JoAnna Quejada at 951-639-5321 or jequejada@msjc.edu
 
Fall 2013 Online Admissions Application
Admissions application is now open for students to access online
For more information contact Cheri Naish at 951-487-3210 or cnaish@msjc.edu
 
Company Nurse
In case of workplace injury, call the Injury Hotline at 877-518-6702
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
E-Waste Recycling & SGA BBQ
Apr. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
SGA Goes Green for Earth Day!
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Communication Studies Club
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Guest Speaker: David Cruz, a well-known speaker, juggler, comedian and member of the Menifee chapter of Toastmasters
For more information contact E. David Moss at 951-639-5626 or emoss@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158
Invisible War
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. TBA
Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421, Commas and Apostrophes
Apr. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Sentence Styles
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Writing a Research Paper
Apr. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Apr. 18, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Apr. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Oral Communication Skills/Presentations
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Faculty Association Meetings
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206
Apr. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1001
Call to action meetings to organize faculty activities regarding the ongoing negotiations with the district
For more information contact Karen Cranney at 951-639-5715 or kcranney@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Creating your Portfolio/Resume
Apr. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Creating your Portfolio/Resume
Apr. 18, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Creating your Portfolio/Resume
Apr. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, How to get Involved!
Apr. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Writing for Fun!
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Apr. 16, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Apr. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Transfer: The Next Step
Apr. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Career/Major: Viticulture, Enology & Winery
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
Or  Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Apr. 17, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu
 
Peer to Peer Workshop: Coping Skills for Peer Support
Apr. 17, 6:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250A
Stigma and Self-Perception skits, presentations, testimonies, discussions and questions
For more information contact Laurence Gonzaga at lgonzaga@msjc.edu
 
Economics Lecture Series: Men Who Built America
Apr. 18, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 927
Economics Department three part series on five men who helped build America: Vanderbilt, Rockefeller, Carnegie, Morgan and Ford
For more information contact Dan Pynn at dpynn@msjc.edu
 
E-Waste Recycling & SGA BBQ
Apr. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
SGA Goes Green for Earth Day!
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Apr. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Reading Apprenticeship
Apr. 18 & 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
For more information contact Cathy Brostrand at 951-487-3641 or cbrostrand@msjc.edu
 
Textbook Adoption Requisitions
Apr. 19 Deadline
Faculty - click here for information on the new electronic process for your textbook adoption requests:
For more information contact Teri Sisco at 951-487-3110 or tsisco@msjc.edu
 
Recycled Art and Fashion Show
Apr. 20, 6:30 pm, Monte de Oro Winery
Art students will strut the runway and raise funds for the Art Department
For more information contact Eileen Doktorski at 951-487-3580 or edoktorski@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Apr. 22, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Mujeres al borde de un ataque de nervios (1988) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Classified Professional of the Year
Apr. 22, 5:00 pm Deadline to Vote
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Apr. 23, 12:45 pm, SJC 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: Picking up the Pieces
Ends Apr. 30, 10:00 am – 4:00 M-Th, SJC Art Gallery
Multi-media artwork advocating suicide prevention, by Los Angeles artist Stacey Wexler, runs April 9 – 30th
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day
May 3rd
A taco bar will be provided, and employees are asked to participate in a dessert potluck!
 
State Treasurer Logo Contest
The California State Treasurer’s Office is holding a logo contest. MSJC students, faculty and staff interested in participating should visit: http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/chffic/contest/index.asp
Contest ends May 31, 2013
 
Vote MSJC!
Help make MSJC #1 for a fifth year in a row through the Press Enterprise Readers Choice poll!
You can vote on all of your favorites, from restaurants to spas, or just scroll directly to the schools and colleges page and enter MSJC there. We will keep you posted when we find out the results: www.pe.com/readerschoice/   (Just click on the link or cut and paste it in your browser)
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Summer 2013 District Operating Schedule
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
@One Technology Training Survey
Complete this survey about your technology training preferences:
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@one%20survey.pdf
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
L-Com: Learning Communities
The MSJC Learning Communities Program is looking for faculty to teach in a learning community
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or  alramirez@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu