Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-2-2013

Weekly Round-Up 4-2-2013

Save the Date: Employee Appreciation Day
May 3rd
In years past, Classified, Faculty & Administration have competed in a softball tournament for a trophy. The Faculty has the trophy now. Please take the survey below to determine if we should continue with Softball or try a new game to compete for Number One. Respond by Friday, April 5. Those responses will determine if we continue with softball or play a new game in an effort to allow all employees to play in the sport of choice: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/6BLXWNY
 
@One Technology Training Survey
Complete this survey about your technology training preferences:
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@one%20survey.pdf
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Company Nurse Injury Hotline
A new benefit for all employees who experience a worker’s compensation injury or illness
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Apr. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Scholarships
Apr. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Choosing a Major
Apr. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 Career/Major: Assistant/Nurse Practitioner
Apr. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974, Soft Skills
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111, Resume/Cover Letters
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Apr. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Mid-Term Preparation
Apr. 4, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Mid-Term Preparation
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Math Anxiety
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Apr. 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 409
Apr. 3, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Insightful Hints on Math Anxiety
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Apr. 2, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Apr. 3, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Apr. 3, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
Discussion: Curriculum Vitae
For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Apr. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Teaching Evolution
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Political Science and Challenge Clubs: Islamic Student Forum
Apr. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Islamic student/scholar forum to address common misconceptions about Islam
For more information contact Stacey Searl-Chapin at 951-639-5685 or schapin@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Apr. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Apr. 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Stress Management
Apr. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305 Advanced Library Research Follow-Up
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Essay Exam Writing
Apr. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600 Oral Communication Skills/Presentations
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series: A Night of Robotics
Apr. 4, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Hands-on robotics demonstrations. Presentations by NASA/JPL Engineer, Eric Blood
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Walgreens Discount Day
Apr. 5th
Present MSJC student or staff ID and receive a 15% discount on all non-Walgreen products and a 20% discount on all Walgreen products at all Hemet/San Jacinto locations
 
Avenue Q, the Musical
Apr. 5, 6, 12 & 13, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Apr. 7 & 14, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Tony Award winning musical! Music and lyrics by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx
For more information contact Lorney O’Connor at 951-487-3791 or loconnor@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Apr. 8, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Commas
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421, Essay Exams
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Classified Professional Nominations
Apr. 8, 8:00 pm Deadline
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Faculty of the Year Awards
Apr. 9, 12:00 pm Deadline for nominations
Four awards (two per campus) will be given for excellence in education
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (2007) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
SERP Program
Apr. 9 Deadline to submit your letter of retirement and SERP application to HR
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Student Writing Competition
Deadline is April 11th
Win a free lunch with Congressman, Raul Ruiz, M.D. on April 30th at noon
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
State Treasurer Logo Contest
The California State Treasurer’s Office is holding a logo contest. MSJC students, faculty and staff interested in participating should visit: http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/chffic/contest/index.asp
Contest ends May 31, 2013
 
L-Com: Learning Communities
The MSJC Learning Communities Program is looking for faculty to teach in a learning community
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or  alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu