Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-30-2013

Weekly Round-Up 4-30-2013

Graduation 2013 Newsletter
 
Last Saturday’s PTK Academic Decathlon a Success!
 
Open Enrollment’s Coming - Mark your calendars!
Starts May 8th – Ends June 6
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Grad Fair 2013
Apr. 30, 11:00 am, MVC Bookstore
For more information contact the Bookstore at 951-639-5133
 
Educational Outreach with Congressman Raul Ruiz
Apr. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Lecture on: S.T.E.M., Community Involvement and Building Bridges
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Apr. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Memory and Concentration Techniques!
May 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Staying Focused!
May 2, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Memory and Concentration Techniques!
May 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Finals Preparation!
May 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Finals Preparation!
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: Picking up the Pieces
Ends Apr. 30, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Multi-media artwork advocating suicide prevention, by Los Angeles artist Stacey Wexler, runs April 9 – 30th
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Apr. 30, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
I Voted, Did You?
Deadline May 1
Help make MSJC #1 for a fifth year in a row through the Press Enterprise Readers Choice poll!
You can vote on all of your favorites, from restaurants to spas, or just scroll directly to the schools and colleges page and enter MSJC there. We will keep you posted when we find out the results: www.pe.com/readerschoice/   (Just click on the link or cut and paste it in your browser)
 
Classified Senate Meeting
May 1, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
May 1, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu
 
Grad Fair 2013
May 2, 11:00 am, SJC Bookstore
For more information contact the Bookstore at 951-487-3130
 
SEA Video/Open Forum
May 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Student Economic Association: Testing Milton Friedman
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
May 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshop
May 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
Setting Goals
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
May 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Annotated Bibliographies
May 6, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Pronoun Errors
May 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421, Using MLA
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
May 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Preparation for the UCI Student Research Conference
May 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Using MLA
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Imperialism & Colonialism Lecture Series
May 2, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center
Balls, Bats and Chants: Indigenous Responses to Colonialism
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Play Festival 2013
May 2, 3 & 4, 7:30 pm SJC Theatre
May 5, 2:30 pm
One-act plays directed and performed by Theatre Arts students
For more information contact Lorney O’Connor at 951-487-3791 or loconnor@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day: Thank You For Your Excellence
May 3rd
Softball Game: 8:30 a.m. on the SJC Baseball Diamond.
Taco bar: 10:45 in SJC Library          Employee Recognition Reception: 11 a.m.
Want to join a softball team? Contact:
Marcus Castellanos for Classified at mcastellanos@msjc.edu
Faith Nobles for Administration Team at fnobles@msjc.edu
Glenn Stevenson for Faculty at gstevenson@msjc.edu
 
Guitar Ensemble/Instrumental Chamber Ensemble
May 3, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Menifee Concert Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Music Student Showcase
May 4, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Menifee Concert Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Campus Singers
May 4, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
May 5, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Menifee Concert Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
May 6, 2:00 pm, SJC 200
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu
 
SGA BBQ & Dunk the Professors
May 7, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
May 9, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3267, 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
High School Senior Day
May 7, 12:00- 7:00 pm, MVC
May 14, 12:00-7:00 pm, SJC
To help ease the transition from high school to college
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5313 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Academy – Aug. 6 - 8 Save the Date!
Deadline May 10 for Proposals
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
State Treasurer Logo Contest
The California State Treasurer’s Office is holding a logo contest. MSJC students, faculty and staff interested in participating should visit: http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/chffic/contest/index.asp
Contest ends May 31, 2013
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Summer 2013 District Operating Schedule
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
@One Technology Training Survey
Complete this survey about your technology training preferences:
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@one%20survey.pdf
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Fall 2013 Online Admissions Application
Admissions application is now open for students to access online
For more information contact Cheri Naish at 951-487-3210 or cnaish@msjc.edu
 
Company Nurse
In case of workplace injury, call the Injury Hotline at 877-518-6702
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
L-Com: Learning Communities
The MSJC Learning Communities Program is looking for faculty to teach in a learning community
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or  alramirez@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu