Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-9-2013

Weekly Round-Up 4-9-2013

Clothesline Project
Apr. 9 & 10, 9:00 am, MVC Quad
Apr. 10, 9:00 am, SJC Quad
Hosted by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu or Tamara Smith at tsmith@msjc.edu
 
Faculty of the Year Awards
Apr. 9, 12:00 pm Deadline for nominations
Four awards (two per campus) will be given for excellence in education
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (2007) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421, Essay Exams
Apr. 10, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301, Essay Exams
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421, Commas and Apostrophes
Apr. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Sentence Styles
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111, Resume/Cover Letters
Apr. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974, Transfer: The Next Step
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Essay Exam Writing
Apr. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Oral Communication Skills/Presentations
Apr. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1421 Writing a Research Paper
Apr. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Apr. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102, Math Anxiety
Apr. 11, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Math Anxiety
Apr. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Creating your Portfolio/Resume
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: Picking up the Pieces
Apr. 9, 4:00 Opening Reception, SJC Art Gallery
Multi-media artwork advocating suicide prevention, by Los Angeles artist Stacey Wexler, runs April 9 – 30th
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
PTK Meeting
Apr. 9, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
Phi Theta Kappa meeting
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
SERP Program
Apr. 9 Deadline to submit your letter of retirement and SERP application to HR
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Peer to Peer Workshop: Coping Skills for Peer Support
Apr. 10, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Apr. 17, 6:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250A
Stigma and Self-Perception skits, presentations, testimonies, discussions and questions
For more information contact Laurence Gonzaga at lgonzaga@msjc.edu
 
Student Economic Association Lecture: Myths that Conceal Reality
Apr. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Milton Friedman’s “Myths that Conceal Reality” video and open forum discussion
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-639-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Department Documentary Video Series
Apr. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 416
Among the Wild Chimpanzees
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Apr. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 486
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at sesarey472@student.msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture: Imperialism & Colonialism
Apr. 11, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center
Crop Imperialism
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Spirit of Enlightenment Lecture: Global Climate Change
Apr. 11, 7:00 pm, San Jacinto High School Theatre
UCR Professor Brian Siana will be discussing the scientific evidence surround global climate change.
For more information contact Mike Rose at mrose@msjc.edu
 
Student Writing Competition
Deadline is April 11th
Win a free lunch with Congressman, Raul Ruiz, M.D. on April 30th at noon
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Career, Major, Nursing and Job Fair
Apr. 12, 10:00 am, MVC Parking Lot C
Hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, CFLC, STEM and the Nursing department
For more information contact Escarlet Wirth at 951-487-3256 or ewirth@msjc.edu
 
History & Humanities Film Festival: Crossing Oceans, Boundaries and Genres - The Films of Ang Lee
Apr. 12, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
Brokeback Mountain (2005)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Avenue Q, the Musical
Apr. 12 & 13, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Apr. 14, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Tony Award winning musical! Music and lyrics by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx
For more information contact Lorney O’Connor at 951-487-3791 or loconnor@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Workshop
Apr. 13, 10 am, MVC Rm. 927
“I can afford college” workshop to assist students in filling out their 2013-2014 FAFSA application
For more information contact Tanisha Bradfield at 951-639-5241 or tbradfield@msjc.edu
 
Fiesta of the Decades
Apr. 13, 10:00 am, Ramona Bowl
MSJC is a proud sponsor and partner of this community event, come and visit our booth!
For more information contact Michelle Kaliher, Hemet/San Jacinto Valley Chamber of Commerce, at 951-658-3211 or events@hsjvc.com
 
American Sign Language Movie Fundraiser
Apr. 13, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
All proceeds go to the ASL department
For more information contact Leslie Greer at 951-639-5399 or lgreer@msjc.edu
 
Vote MSJC!
Help make MSJC #1 for a fifth year in a row through the Press Enterprise Readers Choice poll!
You can vote on all of your favorites, from restaurants to spas, or just scroll directly to the schools and colleges page and enter MSJC there. We will keep you posted when we find out the results: www.pe.com/readerschoice/   (Just click on the link or cut and paste it in your browser)
 
Administrator of the Year Nominations
Apr. 15 Deadline
Email your completed nomination forms to Faith Nobles fnobles@msjc.edu no later than April 15, 2013. Executive Cabinet will review all nominations and select the colleague of the year, who will be honored at the Employee Recognition Reception on May 3, 2013.
 
Colleague of the Year Nominations
Apr. 15 Deadline
Email your completed nomination forms to Faith Nobles at fnobles@msjc.edu no later than April 15, 2013. Executive Cabinet will review all nominations and select the colleague of the year, who will be honored at the Employee Recognition Reception on May 3, 2013.
 
Student Government Association BBQ’s
Apr. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Apr. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
SGA Goes Green for Earth Day!
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158
Invisible War
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Apr. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. TBA
Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day
May 3rd
A taco bar will be provided, and employees are asked to participate in a dessert potluck!
 
State Treasurer Logo Contest
The California State Treasurer’s Office is holding a logo contest. MSJC students, faculty and staff interested in participating should visit: http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/chffic/contest/index.asp
Contest ends May 31, 2013
 
Quarterly Grant Outlook
Grant opportunity listing April – June, 2013
Grant research request form:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
Summer 2013 District Operating Schedule
For more information contact Cindy Rogers at 951-487-3161 or crogers@msjc.edu
@One Technology Training Survey
Complete this survey about your technology training preferences:
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/@one%20survey.pdf
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
Company Nurse Injury Hotline
A new benefit for all employees who experience a worker’s compensation injury or illness
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
L-Com: Learning Communities
The MSJC Learning Communities Program is looking for faculty to teach in a learning community
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or  alramirez@msjc.edu
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu