Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-10-2013

Weekly Round-Up 9-10-2013

CSEA Chapter Meeting
Sep. 10, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meetings
Sep. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Sep. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Kathy Ponio at 951-487-3407 or kponio@msjc.edu or Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1302 – Applying for the All-USA, Jack Kent Cooke and Pearson Scholarships
Sep. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Sep. 11, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Using MLA
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Sep. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Jack Kent Cooke and All-USA Scholarships
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Active Shooter Awareness for Students
Sep. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Students are encouraged to attend an Active Shooter Awareness presentation with Sherry Colgan Stone
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Translating English into Math
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – Scientific Calculators
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm.1457B – Word Problems – Mixture
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B – Word Problems - Investment
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 11, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250D – The Writing Process
Sep. 11, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – MLA Style
Sep. 16, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 107B – Preparing for Writing Tutoring
Sep. 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – How Not to Plagiarize
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
911 Anniversary Observance
Sep. 11, 12:00 pm, San Gorgonio Pass Campus Flag Pole
For more information contact Bertha Barraza at bbarraza@msjc.edu
 
Student Development Program & EOPS/CARE Workshops
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Scholarships
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Taking Charge of My Education
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1301 – Taking Charge of Your Education
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Scholarships: Money for College
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Semester in Spain Workshop
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
For more information contact Shartelle Fears at 951-639-5261 or sfears@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC TAG (Transfer Admission Guarantee)
Sep. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 -       “                  “                      “
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 –    “                   “                      “
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Community Outreach Art Exhibition: a.r.t.e.r.y.
Sep. 12, 3:00 - 7:00 pm Public Reception, SJC Art Gallery
Show runs through Oct. 17, Art Gallery Hours: M-Th 10am – 4pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
STEM Science Lecture Series
Sep. 12, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487
Guest speaker: Robert Brockett, local research scientist
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at cranthony@msjc.edu
 
STEM Club Meeting
Sep. 13, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 805
The club’s purpose is to encourage student interest in the fields of Science Technology Engineering and Math
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at cranthony@msjc.edu
 
History Film Festival
Sep. 13, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600
The Grapes of Wrath (1940)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
“No eres tu, soy yo” (2010) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
City of Menifee 5th Annual Birthday Bash
Oct. 5, 4:00 -  9:00 pm, MVC
Outreach requests your attendance at the Birthday Party for the City of Menifee!
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Race for the Cure
Oct. 20th
Sign up Now for Team MSJC!
Help! We need more people to sign up for the 15th Annual Inland Empire Susan G Komen Race for the Cure. Our MSJC team will receive two t-shirts when they sign up. MSJC will provide a t-shirt that was custom designed for us and you will also get the official 2013 Susan G Komen race t-shirt. On the day of the race we will all wear the custom designed shirt.
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
Oct. 25, 6:30 – 9:30 pm, MVC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Motorcycle Run
Oct. 26, 7:30 am, MVC to SJC
Save the Date!
For more information visit www.msjc.edu or call 951-487-3171
 
Homecoming BBQ & Football Game
Oct. 26, 11:30 am, SJC Stadium
Save the Date!
 
Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey
Have your students take the Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey!
For more information contact Susanne Mata, smata@msjc.edu or 487-3435.
 
Gala Payroll Deduction Form
The Foundation offers MSJC employees special payroll deduction starting NOW to purchase tickets to the annual Gala on Feb. 8, 2014!
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary logo through December 2013. Please use the 50th logo on all publications, fliers, and other items that will be published through that time period.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu