Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-18-2012

Weekly Round-Up 9-18-2012

Enhanced Classified Senate Website
Learn more about who we are, what we do and what we have planned!
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-487-3441 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
SGA Fall Fest BBQ’s
Sep. 18, 12:00 – 2:00 pm, MVC Quad
Sep. 20, 12:00 – 2:00 pm, SJC Quad
The menu: Barbequed chicken leg quarter with salad, chips and a drink     The price: $4.50 regular / $3.50 w/SGA sticker
For more information contact Nathan Brais, Student Government Association Advisor, at 951-639-5566 or nbrais@msjc.edu
Stop by the ShakeOut Table and learn about the upcoming 2012 ShakeOut event on Oct. 18, 2012 at 10:18 am. For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Solve Linear Equations
Sep. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 – Math 90, Chapter 4, Part 1     
Sep. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 - Word Problems - Translate
Sep. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 603 - Math 90, Chapter 4, Part 11
For more information contact Theresa Hert at 951-487-3751 or thert@msjc.edu
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
iStudent Workshops
Sep. 18, 12:30, SJC Rm. 102 – Be a Better Communicator
Sep. 19, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Transferring 101
Sep. 24, 12:30, MVC Rm. 600 – Math & English Anxiety
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – How are you Handling Life’s Stresses?
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Becoming an SI Leader
Sep. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Selecting a Research Topic and Writing a Research Paper      
Sep. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B TAG (Transfer Admission Guarantee)
Sep. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 TAG (Transfer Admission Guarantee)
Sep. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B Cover Letter & Resume
Sep. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Cover Letter & Resume
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 18, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – APA Style
Sep. 24, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Their Ideas – Your Voice: Summaries, Paraphrases and Quotations
For more information contact Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@smjc.edue
 
Honors Faculty Training Workshop
Sep. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Rotaract Club Meeting
Sep. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
For more information contact Shayla Esarey at shayshayni@gmail.com
 
Student Economic Association Meeting
Sep. 20, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932
The SEA meets to discuss club functions and activities
For more information contact Dewey Heinsma at 951-5636 or dheinsma@msjc.edu
 
Eagles Veteran & Dependent Organization (EVDO) Meeting
Sep. 20, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805 / SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-639-5262 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Sep. 20, 7:00 pm, Western Science Center 2345 Searl Pkwy, Hemet, Classroom A
Sexuality & Society: How did you get so sexed? Sex determination and Intersexuality
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society Orientations
Sep. 24, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211
Sep. 25, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
Curriculum Committee Meeting
Sep. 24, 3:30 pm, CCC Confer online
For more information contact Angela Seavey at 951-487-3402 or aseavey@msjc.edu
 
Visiting Writers’ Series Poetry Reading
Sep. 25, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 407
Award-winning poet, Steve Davenport: “Thoughts that breathe, and words that burn”
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Congressional Candidate Forum
Sep. 25, 12:45 pm, SJC Theatre
Candidate forum with Raul Ruiz, Democratic candidate for the 45th Congressional District
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Sep. 25, 12:45 – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/ SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Elaine Eshom at 951-639-5500 or eeshom@msjc.edu
 
Updated Administrative Procedure
The following administrative procedure has been updated and included in the AP manual on the website:
AP 6910 - Cafeteria
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
Grant Opportunity!
The Walmart Foundations Local Giving Program grant notification:
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
The Great California ShakeOut
Oct. 18, 10:18 am
Sign-up as an individual participant: www.shakeout.org        Remember – “ShakeOut. Don’t Freak Out.”
For more information contact Bruce Brady at 951-487-3114 or bbrady@msjc.edu
 
Komen Race for the Cure
Oct. 21, 2012  Promenade Mall, Temecula
Join Team MSJC!
For more information contact Laurie McLaughlin at 951-506-6466 or lmclaugh@msjc.edu
 
Support the MSJC Cheer Squad: Buy a Calendar
Help support the MSJC Cheer Squad!  The squad’s  2012-13 calendar is full of amazing photos at only $10 a piece!
Please help support the squad by purchasing your annual calendar today.  If you are interested, please contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu or Pascaline Barry-Grooms at pbarry@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Partners with WeTip
The Business Services department Risk Management staff announces this partnership to help support a crime free campus
For more information contact Kara McGee, Risk Management Coordinator, at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Summer Energy Conservation
In partnership with Southern California Edison, and in an effort to control energy costs, please manually shut-off all thermostats and unnecessary power, including electronics in your area, at the end of your work week.
Grant Funding Availability
Grant funding opportunities that may help match a funding source to your program/project needs
For more information contact Regina Howard at 951-487-3076 or rhoward@msjc.edu
 
2013 Golden Jubilee Gala: Payroll Deduction
It’s easier than ever to join in the fun and help MSJC celebrate its 50th Golden Jubilee at the Gala on February 9, 2013 at the Pechanga Resort. If you sign up now for monthly payroll deductions to purchase your tickets, the monthly payments will be decreased because they will be spread out over a longer period of time.  Click here for the form: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PayrollDeductionFormGala2013.pdf
 
50th Anniversary Logo
MSJC is celebrating its 50th anniversary starting with the Fall 2012 semester. The new 50th logo will replace the MSJC logo through December 2013.
Look for the logos on the P Drive at: P:\Departments\Logos and Maps\Logos\50AnnvLogo
This folder provides the 50th logo in several different formats: Word, JPG, etc. It also provides an electronic version for official MSJC stationery.
For information on the logos, please contact the Marketing & Public Information office at MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu or the Print Shop at PrintShop@msjc.edu