Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Student Success and Support Program

Student Success and Support Program

Seymour-Campbell Student Success Act of 2012 (SB 1456)

The Student Success Task Force (SSTF) report was developed by 20 members of a diverse committee consisting of internal and external stakeholders. Convened by the California Community Colleges Board of Governors, the committee's goal was to examine the best practices and models for students success and provide recommendations. The SSTF forwarded 22 recommendations and 8 focus areas that formed the legislative basis for SB 1456 known as the Seymour-Campbell Student Success Act of 2012.  Eight of the SSTF recommendations focus on:


​​1. Increasing college and career readiness
2. Strengthening support for entering students
3. Incentivizing successful student behaviors
4. Aligning course offerings to meet student needs 
5. Improve education of basic skills students
6. Revitalize and re-vision professional development
7. Enable efficient statewide leadership and increase coordination among colleges
8. Align resources with student success recommendations

The Seymour-Campbell Student Success Act of 2012 also provided a "policy framework" enabling the California Community College system to:

  • Re-purpose and re-focus core Matriculation services, assessment, orientation, counseling/advising to assist students in developing education plans;
  • Leverage technology to reach a greater number of students;
  • Require the Board of Governors to adopt policies to mandate orientation, assessment, and student education plans.​
A Plan for Student Success

The Seymour-Campbell Student Success Act of 2012, Senate Bill 1456 was signed by Governor Brown on September 27, 2012 and is effective January 1, 2013.

With the enactment of the Student Success Act of 2012, a comprehensive plan to improve the California Community College system is mandated statewide to a) rebalance priorities within the system and focus on the core missions of workforce preparation and transfer while protecting access​ b) making community colleges more responsive to the needs of students the economy c) increasing student success rates for certificate and degree completion and transfer to four-year colleges.

What is the Student Success and Support Program (formerly Matriculation)?
Student Success & Support Program (SSSP) (formerly Matriculation) is a process that enhances student access to the California Community Colleges and promotes and sustains the efforts of credit students to be successful in their educational endeavors. The goals of Student Success & Support Program (formerly matriculation) are to ensure that all students complete their college courses, persist to the next academic term, and achieve their educational objectives through the assistance of the student-direct components of the student success & support program (formerly matriculation) process: admissions, orientation, assessment and testing, counseling, and student follow-up.​

MSJC's Student Success and Support Committee
The charge of the SSSP Committee is to provide direction and consultation for policies and procedures that directly impact the core services of SSSP: assessment, orientation, counseling/student education plans, probation/dismissal and follow-up services.

Current membership of MSJC's Student Success and Support Program (SSSP) (formerly Matriculation) Committee

SSSP Co-Chairs

Angela Barbera, Assessment Specialist (Classified co-chair)
JoAnna Quejada, Dean, Counseling/Career and Transfer/Disabled Students Program and Services (Administrative co-chair)​

SSSP Faculty Committee Members
Miranda Angeles, Puente Counselor
Alex Cuatok, Student Success Coordinator
Elias Escamilla, Jr., Counselor
Carol Jones, Instructor
Sherri Moore, Associate Professor, Library Science

SSSP Classified Members
Jared Davis, Evaluator
Janet McCurdy, Articulation Officer
Jennie Ragsdale, Evaluator​

SSSP Student Representative
Megan Mattu, Pre-Nursing student

SSSP Administration Members
Ketmani Kouanchao, Director, Extended Opportunity Programs and Services/CARE
Cheri Naish, Director, Enrollment Services​
Micah Orloff, Interim Dean, Academic Computing, Technology and Distance Education