Nine More Eagle Football Players Earn Scholarships

The busy off season for the MSJC football team has continued all Spring semester and nine more Eagles have signed scholarships to continue playing next year.footballsigns1.jpg

Five more Eagles have signed NCAA Division I scholarships.  Roosevelt Pearson (Texas State), Michael Harrison (Georgia State), Brett Layton (Ohio), Kelvin Shelton (Alabama-Birmingham), and Leroy Holt (Bethune Cookman) join Fall signee Dejon Brown (Western Kentucky) as Division I players for next season. 

Harrison was a First Team All Mountain Conference performer last season for MSJC when he led the Eagles in several offensive categories.  Harrison led the team with 1,536 all purpose yards and scored 13 touchdowns, he also led the offense in rushing yards, receiving yards, and punt return yardage.  First Team All Conference defensive back Brett Layton finished his sophomore season fourth in tackles for MSJC with 36, he also had an interception.  Holt footballsigns2.jpg
also a defensive back for the Eagles tied for the team lead with a pair of INTs.  Pearson a two year starter at defensive end recorded 2.5 sacks and a team high 8.5 tackles for loss during the 2013 season.  Shelton an offensive tackle also was a two year starter for MSJC.

Four other 2013 Eagles also committed this Spring to four year schools, two at the NCAA Division II level and two at the NAIA level.  Tim Bruzzesi and Jacob Osborne have both signed at Division II schools with Bruzzesi headed to MeKendree University and Osborne headed to Dixie State.  Osborne who played outside linebacker for the Eagles earned an academic scholarship to Dixie.  Bruzzesi was a Second Team All Mountain Conference performer at offensive center for the Eagles last season despite starting the year as a tight end. Defensive back Jonathan McGinnis has signed with Dickinson State University and Jake McCraw a defensive end will play next season at Missouri Valley College.  These four join Jason Dixon (Eastern New Mexico) who along with Brown signed in the Fall semester.

The Eagles now have 11 players from the 2013 team that have signed scholarships for next year with at least four more expected to do so in the next couple of weeks.  "I am really proud of all of these guys and how hard they have worked to earn scholarships for next year," said MSJC head football coach Casey Mazzotta.  "It shows that these guys took advantage of their opportunity here and put themselves in a position academically to take advantage of their chance to earn a four year degree."  "We want to wish all of them the best of luck and thank them for their hard work and dedication to MSJC."

The 2014 Eagles will begin their summer workouts on June 9th.


Nine more MSJC football players signed scholarships during the Spring semester including; (top l-r) Roosevelt Pearson, Brett Layton, and Kelvin Shelton, pictured with Coach Casey Mazzotta and (bottom) Michael Harrison.  That makes 11 2013 Eagles who have now signed to move on to the University level next year with a few more expected to sign in the next couple weeks.