Four Eagles Honored by PCAC, Benjamin MVP

Four members of the MSJC men's basketball team were honored by the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference North Division this week, headlined by sophomore Dwayne Benjamin who earned conference player of the year honors.dwaynemvp.jpg

Benjamin ended the regular season averaging a team high 21.2 points per game as well as a team high 8.1 rebounds.  Benjamin was a first team All Foothill Conference performer last season as a freshman and this year helped the Eagles to an overall record of 23-4 and a #3 seed in the Southern California Regional Tournament.  Benjamin has already signed a scholarship to play next year at the University of Oregon.

Sophomore Dajuan Smith and freshman Sam Williams were also named First Team All PCAC.  Smith averaged over 14 points a game this season for the Eagles who won a share of the PCAC North Division along with Grossmont.  Smith also averaged 6 rebounds per game and over 2 assists per contest.  Williams finished the year averaging 10 points per game and stepped his scoring average up to 11.2 in conference games.  Williams finished the season strong along with his teammates as MSJC won 17 of their final 18 regular season game.

Sophomore point guard Carlos McCormick was named Second Team All PCAC.  McCormick ended the year averaging 6 points and 5 assists per game and usually drew the assignment of guarding the opponents most offesnive guard.  MSJC head coach Patrick Springer was named the PCAC North Division Co-Coach of the Year for his team's performance during the regular season.

The Eagles will begin post season on play on Saturday night when they host Ventura College at 7 pm.  The Pirates won a first round game over defending state champion Mt. SAC on Wednesday to advance to Saturday night's game.


Dwayne Benjamin, who helped MSJC to a 23-4 regular season record and a #3 seed in the So Cal Regional, was named the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference North Division Player of the Year.  Teammates Sam Williams and Dajuan Smith earned all first team honors and Carlos McCormick was named to the 2nd team.  Coach Patrick Springer earned coach of the year honors.