Men's Tennis Team Shuts Out Victor Valley

The MSJC Men's tennis team traveled to Victor Valley College on Thursday afternoon for a Foothill Conference match. The Eagles returned home with a 9-0 victory and will now prepare for a Sunday afternoon match-up against the defending state champion Pirates from Ventura College. The last time the eagles and pirates met on the tennis courts was near the end of the 2010 season in the Southern California dual team semi-finals. The pirates defeated the eagles 5-3 in a match which lasted over 5 hours. This will be the 1st ever visit for Ventura College to the MSJC campus and the eagles hope to make it a match they will not soon forget! Please come out and support the men's and women's tennis teams this Sunday. Match time is set for 11am.
The men's tennis team is currently 7-1 and also ranked #3 in Southern California by the ITA. The only loss coming against College of the Desert 2 weeks ago at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.
MSJC def. Victor Valley College 
Foothill Conference dual match played on 3/3/11 @ Victor Valley College
1. James Bragg (msjc) def. J. Encisco (vvc) 6-3, 6-1
2. Anderson Ribeiro (msjc) def. T. Gentry (vvc) 6-1, 6-1
3. Tavyn Libao (msjc) def. Z. Mckellar (vvc) 6-2, 6-1
4. Damen Ellingson (msjc) def. K. Girugas (vvc) 6-1, 6-1
5. Joel Duenas (msjc) def. A. Sotto (vvc) 6-1, 6-0
6. Bryan Bosquet (msjc) def. A. Rubio (vvc) 6-0, 6-0
1. Bragg/Riberio (msjc) def. Encisco (vvc) 8-1
2. Libao/Duenas (msjc) def. McKellar/Girugas (vvc) 8-6
3. Ellingson/Bosquet (msjc) def. Sotto/Rubio (vvc) 8-1
College of the Desert def. MSJC 
Foothill Conference dual match played on 2/1/7/11 @ Indian Wells Tennis Garden 
1. Rodrigo Schaefer (cod) def. Victor Bittar (msjc) 6-1, 6-3
2. Mensford Owusu (msjc) def. Christian Fischer (cod) 6-4, 6-4
3. Alfredo Mota (cod) def. Murilo Valadares (msjc) 6-0, 7-5
4. Aron Kronk (cod) def. James Bragg (msjc) 6-3, 6-3
5. Sergio Chip (cod) def. Anderson Ribeiro (msjc) 6-4, 6-1
6. Daniel Francisco (cod) def. Tavyn Libao (msjc) 6-1, 3-6 10-8
1. Schaefer/Chip (cod) def. Bittar/Owusu (msjc) 10-6
2. Bragg/Valadares (msjc) def. Kronk/Francisco (cod) 10-7
3. Mota/Sandri (cod) def. Libao/J. Duenas (msjc) 10-3