Foundation to Award More Than $100,000 at Scholarship Breakfast

​May 8, 2015

The Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation will award 109 MSJC students with scholarships totaling $121,742.00 during its annual Student Scholarship Awards Breakfast on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at the Soboba Country Club in San Jacinto.

During the ceremony, MSJC student Ursula Simonoski will receive the prestigious Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship. The $40,000-a-year renewable scholarship will help Ursula when she transfers to a four-year university to earn her bachelor's degree.  

The addition of the Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship brought the total awarded amount that will be handed out during the Scholarship Breakfast to $161,742.

Stephanie Vasquez, the event’s student speaker and a veteran, will receive the Assistance League of Hemacinto, Valley P.E.O., Golden Village Palms RV Resort, Foundation Annual Gala scholarships. 

Scholarship awards are based on a person’s academic metric and financial needs. The MSJC Foundation Scholarship Committee is made up of dedicated Foundation board members who review each application and select the recipients. 

The funds can be used for tuition, books, school supplies or equipment. The MSJC Foundation accepts donations for scholarships throughout the year. For more information on how to contribute, visit

Ursula Simonoski, of Beaumont, received the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship for 2015. She will receive up to $40,000 a year for up to three years to earn her bachelor’s degree.

Stephanie Vasquez, of Beaumont, is a veteran and MSJC student who will serve as the guest speaker for the May 20 Scholarship Breakfast and will receive several scholarships.

The scholarship donors are: American Legion Riders Post 848; Alma Brook Memorial; Assistance League of Hemacinto; Association of California Community College Administration Scholarship; Bonnie Powell Memorial; Captain Henry O. & Elizabeth Cassle Nursing Scholarship; Cardenas Latino Scholarship; Catherine Kit Longe Stewart Scholarship; Chapter AE; Chapter AS; Chapter VC; Charles A. Rohr Memorial; Coca Cola Scholarship; Coverdille Memorial; Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship; Dorothy & Mark McGargill; Doyle Memorial; Dr. E. Stoddard; Dr. Johnson Endowment; Edison International Scholar Program; Emma J. Hammagren; Francis Domenigoni-Gale; Gary l. Tyler Memorial; Gene Lombard Memorial; Glenn Steinback Memorial; Golden Era Production Scholarship; Golden Village Palms RV Resort; Gosch Auto Group Scholarship;  Harold G. Heller Memorial; Heffner Memorial; Honors Enrichment Program; In Honor of Gwendolyn Schlange;Inland Empire Scholarship; J. Simpson Memorial Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship; Kenneth W. Prado for “a 2nd chance” Scholarship;  McAtee Scholarship; McQueen Nursing; Menifee/Sun City Women's Club; Mildred E. Hight; Mina Pennick Perpetual; NOLUR; P & H Iverson; Paul E. Tibbetts Memorial; President’s Pooled Scholarship; Robert & Alma Burke Scholarship; Rohrabacker Memorial; Roy B. Mason Memorial; Sandi Saraydarian Memorial; Soboba Band of Luiseno Indians; Temecula Valley AAUW; Temecula Valley Women’s Club; The 2014 Gala Scholarship; The Cameron & Tyler Holman Child Development Scholarship;  Valerie Sidlin Memorial; Valley Quilters Guild; Valley PEO; Victorina T. Edora-Kriklin; Warren & Olga Schultz Memorial; Waterhouse Edwards; William Billion Memorial; William Pemberton; WM Sprowl Memorial; Women' Club of San Jacinto; Zena Sharp Memorial.