MSJC Foundation Celebrates Scholarship Recipients

May 10, 2​018

More than 50 Mt. San Jacinto College students received nearly $90,000 in scholarship funds during the MSJC Foundation’s annual Scholarship Reception. The May 9 event was held at Wilson Creek Winery in Temecula.

A total of $87,375 was awarded to 54 students during the annual scholarship reception.

Nursing major Giti Skolnick of Murrieta, who plans on transferring to Cal Poly Pomona, received a total of four scholarships.

“I have started my academic journey with a goal of becoming a certified nurse/midwife,” Skolnick said. “I have a strong interest in women’s physical and psychological health and its influence on the self, the pregnancy and the children.”

Rene’ Michelle Floyd, a Perris resident, won first place in the SOCO Business Competition – a competition for MSJC students modeled after the TV show “Shark Tank.” She received $5,000. The SOCO Group awarded a total of $20,000 to four students.

More photos: MSJC Foundation Scholarship Reception photos on Flickr


The Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation awarded 54 students with scholarships totaling nearly $90,000 during a luncheon on May 9, 2018.

The MSJC Foundation is grateful for the generosity of its donors for supporting MSJC students:

AAUW Temecula Valley
Alma Brook Memorial Nursing Scholarship
American Legion Post Riders 848
Assistance League of Hemacinto
Catholic Charities
Delta Kappa Gamma
George & Sherrie Guerrero
Golden Era Productions
Kiwanis Club of Hemet Valley
Mary Lucas
MSJC Honors Instructors
Myrna Rohr
PEO Chapter AS-AS
PEO Chapter VC San Jacinto
Sherri Domenigoni
SOCO Group Institute
Temecula Valley Rotary
Temecula Valley Women’s Club
Valley Women’s Conference

Scholarship recipients were:

Aaron Gregory
Alexandra Figueroa
Alfredo Guerra
Ashley Baldridge
Bobbie Amenabar
Brandi Donini
Chelsea Castro
Diego Porroa Garcia
Gabriella Sanchez
Gema Neri-Valle
Gilbert Jenkins
Giti Skolnick
Haley Zurcher
Hannah Gerber
James Riback
Jessica Rook
Jesus Perez
Jonathon Short
Joseph Herbrandonson
Judith Gibson
Juliet Perez
Justin Costello
Justin Gedeon
Kanesha Travis
Kelsey Atkins
Kevin Adcock
Kimberly Hull
Lindsey Alvarez
Manuela Correa
Marcela Abaoag
Maryann Samaan
Michael Kemper
Moira Urtiaga
Nicole Torres
Niu Liu
Noe Cebreros
Rachel Gomez
Rene’ Michelle Floyd
Sarah Albrecht
Sarah Bush
Sarai Velazco
Shiji Yuan
Silverio Barboza
Stephanie Jimenez
Steven Wilson
Tessa Adamson
Tichona White
Tyler Aspengren