Four MSJC students set the bar high at upcoming Statewide Honors Awards

Mt. San Jacinto College is proud to announce that four of its honors students have been selected for the statewide First Team in the 2013 Phi Theta Kappa Academic Team Awards.
The four All-California Academic Team nominees, Shayla Esarey, Nik Warren, Clarice Gerbl and Sarah Stebbings, will attend an awards luncheon in Sacramento on March 6th, 2013.
In a single whirlwind day, these exceptional scholars will be recognized for all of the hard work and contributions they have made to the Mt. San Jacinto College community. The program, administered by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the Community College League of California, recognizes community college students based on their grades, academic rigor, growth and how well the students use their education to benefit their schools and communities.
It is unprecedented that all four of these women have placed on the first of three team rankings, which makes each eligible for selection for the Coca-Cola Community College Scholarship, the All-USA Academic Team, and the New Century Scholar Award, said Nick Reeves, MSJC’s PTK adviser.
"In the 5 years I have been PTK adviser, I have never seen all of our nominees place on the First Team together,” Reeves said. “Receiving a First Team ranking means that all of our students are still in the running for any of the scholarships offered through this application process. I am so proud of our students. This is going to be an exciting luncheon.”
Majors of the students
Shayla Esarey, Temecula resident: Political Science with minors in History and Psychology
Nik Warren, Murrieta resident:  Health Science, minoring in English Literature
Sarah Stebbings, Lake Elsinore resident: Neuroscience
Clarice Gerbl, San Jacinto resident: Science