MSJC Foundation Scholarship Breakfast awards more than $200,000

May 16, 2014​

The Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation awarded 101 MSJC students with scholarships totaling $115,649.00 during its annual Student Scholarship Awards Breakfast on Thursday, May 15, 2014 at the Soboba Country Club in San Jacinto.

During the ceremony, three MSJC students received the prestigious Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship. Irvin Calderon of Perris, Aaron Hansen of Sun City and Christopher Blake Leeper of Wildomar will transfer to four-year universities thanks to the $30,000-a-year renewable scholarship. David Pese of Perris earned a $5,000 award from the SOCO Institute for the restaurant business plan he pitched during The Competition. It was the first Shark Tank style event organized by the MSJC Business Department to help student entrepreneurs get real-world experience in business plan writing and presentation.  

The addition of the Jack Kent Scholarship brought the total award amount handed out during the Scholarship Breakfast to $205,649.

Maureen Njuguna, the event’s student speaker, received the Temecula Valley AAUW, Coca Cola, Guistwhite, & Edison International Scholar Program scholarships. She told the audience how she arrived in the U.S. in 2010 and began attending MJSC. She is planning on transferring to a four-year university this fall.

“I just want to thank the Mt. San Jacinto College community for supporting my dream as an immigrant student,” she said.

Scholarship awards are based on a person’s academic metric and financial needs. The MSJC Foundation Scholarship Committee is made up of dedicated Foundation board members who review each application and select the recipients. 

The funds can be used for tuition, books, school supplies or equipment. The MSJC Foundation accepts donations for scholarships throughout the year. For more information on how to contribute, visit

The Scholarship Breakfast followed MSJC's annual Honors Convocation, held the night before in the library on the San Jacinto Campus. The convocation recognizes outstanding and distinguished students for their exemplary contributions to the educational experience. Honors Convocation is also an opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of students who have made extraordinary strides as students.

David Pese, right, and his wife, Ash, hold the certificate they received from the MSJC Foundation to honor him for winning $5,000 from the SOCO Institute for his restaurant business plan.

MSJC student Maureen Njuguna tells guests at the MSJC Foundation Scholarship Breakfast on May 15, 2014 that attending MSJC helped her fulfill her educational goals. She will attend a four-year university in the fall. 

The scholarship donors are: Assistance League of Hemacinto; Association of California Community College Administration Scholarship; Beryl Andrews Business Scholarship; Captain Henry O. & Elizabeth Cassle Nursing Scholarship; Cardenas Latino Scholarship; Catherine Kit Longe Stewart Scholarship; Chapter AS; Chapter VC; Charles A. Rohr Memorial; Coca Cola Scholarship; Coverdille Memorial; Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship; Dorothy & Mark McGargill; Doyle Memorial; Dr. E. Stoddard; Dr. Johnson Endowment; Edison International Scholar Program; Emma J. Hammagren; Francis Domenigoni-Gale; Gary l. Tyler Memorial; Gene Lombard Memorial; Glenn Steinback Memorial; Golden Era Production Scholarship; Guistwhite Scholarship; Harold G. Heller Memorial; Heffner Memorial; Honors Enrichment Program; Inland Empire Scholarship; J. Simpson Memorial Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship; John Dietrich; Kenneth W. Prado for “a 2nd chance” Scholarship; Kiwanis Club of Hemet Valley; Marion Applegate; McAtee Scholarship; McQueen Nursing; Menifee/Sun City Women's Club; Mildred E. Hight; Mina Pennick Perpetual; NOLUR; P & H Iverson; Paul E. Tibbetts Memorial; President’s Pooled Scholarship; Robert & Alma Burke Scholarship; Rohrabacker Memorial; Roy B. Mason Memorial; Sandi Saraydarian Memorial; Sgt. Eric "Doc" Williams Scholarship; Soroptimist of Idyllwild; Temecula Valley AAUW; Temecula Valley Women’s Club; The 2014 Gala Scholarship; The Cameron & Tyler Holman Child Development Scholarship; The Student Service Motorcycle Run; Toni Silva Memorial; Valerie Sidlin Memorial; Valley PEO; Victorina T. Edora-Kriklin; Warren & Olga Schultz Memorial; Waterhouse Edwards; William Billion Memorial; William Pemberton; WM Sprowl Memorial; Women' Club of San Jacinto.