MSJC Honors students receive scholarships

Two Mt. San Jacinto College students received scholarships from the Honors Transfer Council for their essays that described how their lives had changed after joining an Honors Enrichment Program.

Taylor Hempy and Brianna Mckiddy were among 19 students from community colleges in California who received the HTCC Exceptional Achievement Scholarships on Feb. 28, 2009. The students received the $300 scholarships during the 9th annual Honors Research Conference at UC Irvine.

More than 400 people attended the research conference, where Taylor, Brianna and other Mt. San Jacinto College Honors Enrichment Program students presented the results of their research.  The conference is jointly organized by the Honors Transfer Council of California (HTCC) with UC Irvine.

Taylor's research topic was “The Power of Conformity through Hazing,” and Brianna, presented research on “Vampiric Violence.”

Mt. San Jacinto College was recognized during the welcoming remarks by the Conference Chair, Brian Waddington of Citrus College, for having the largest number of attendees, according to Erik Ozolins, MSJC Honors Enrichment Program Director and Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Anthropology.

MSJC student  Sasha Clark  participated in the Issues Forum as a panelist.  The topic was "Going Green While in the Red,” and the participants from colleges such as Golden West, RCC, Citrus and Mt. San Antonio Colleges discussed different energy source options. 

ArielleOther student presenters were Andrew Hoe, Eric Storrie, Ashley Smith, Valerie Jones, Arielle Salgado, Stacie Macias, Chris Howell, Alexandra Freeman, Tamar Floyd, and Sterling Davenport. 


Arielle Salgado

Additionally, two MSJC Honors students, Virginia Kellison and Annabel Halford, participated in the conference as volunteers. 

All of the MSJC student presenters had been aided in their research by MSJC  faculty mentors: Dr. Tom Donovan, Dr. Michelle Stewart, Dr. Jim Davis, Ms. Christina Yamanaka, Dr. Jason Hlebakos and Mr. Erik Ozolins. 

MSJC’s Nick Reeves, Assistant Professor of Biology, and Paul Hendry, Assistant Professor of English, attended the conference to support our students and become more familiar with the Honors Program.  Carlos Lopez, Dean of Academic Program on the San Jacinto Campus, and Richard Rowley, Dean of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences on the Menifee Campus, also attended to support the students and the MSJC Honors Program.  At the introductory session, Deans Lopez and Rowley were recognized along with other administrators from other colleges for the support that they provide to the Honors programs at their respective colleges.

The Honors Transfer Council of California is an organization composed of the directors of the various Honors Programs at community colleges throughout California.  The main goals of the HTCC are to promote transfer opportunities for Honors Students, to develop premier Honors programs at community colleges and to increase the level of scholarship among our students.  Both of the MSJC Honors Coordinators (Christina Yamanaka and Erik Ozolins) are members of the HTCC.