MSJC PTK receives regional recognition for excellence

Mt. San Jacinto College’s chapter of an international honor society recently received regional recognition for excellence.
MSJC’s Beta Delta Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international organization, received the Five-Start distinction at the Phi Theta Kappa Nevada/California Regional Convention in Foster City, CA on Saturday March 5, 2011.
The MSJC chapter achieved the highest level of participation in honors society activities, including the planning and implementation of a College Project and Honors in Action Project. 
Only 8 of the 98 Nevada/California Region chapter achieved Five Star status.
Beta Delta Omega earned first place in the History and the Future division. It got second place honors for the Distinguished Chapter Award, based on the overall quantity and quality of participation in the honor society's programming for events like a Holiday Food and Toy Drive. This award is essentially a ranking of the Nevada California Region chapters and our Beta Delta Omega chapter was ranked as the second best chapter out of 98 total chapters in our region.

The success of MSJC’s Beta Delta Omega chapter would not have been possible without the hard work of its officer board, faculty advisors, and support specialist that are listed below:
President:  Joseph Stacy
Vice President: Amy Bartel
Executive Chapter Secretary: Julia Morales
Executive Finance Officer: Angie Hughes
Jr. Executive Finance Officer: Zachary Segawa
Correspondence Secretary: Melissa Kirk
Scholarship Officer (MVC): Luana Barfield
Scholarship Officer (SJC): Raymond Delgado
Service Officer (MVC): Sydney Ghazarian
Service Officer (SJC): Colleen Tozer
Fellowship Officer (MVC): Gina Guglielmana
Fellowship Officer (SJC): Jena Aronson
Leadership Officer (MVC): Jeshsika Martinez
Leadership Officer (SJC): Daniel Tripp
Enhancement Officer (MVC): Marlen Gonzalez
Chapter Historian (MVC): Yesenia Jameson
Chapter Historian (SJC): Reyna Chavez
Technology Officer: Melissa Seidl
Faculty Advisor (SJC): Christina Yamanaka
Faculty Co-Advisor (SJC): Jorge Valdez-Alvarez
Faculty Co-Advisor (MVC): Nick Reeves
Support Specialist in PTK Office: Sandi Uhrig