MSJC Trustees Select Dr. Sherrie Guerrero to Fill Board Vacancy

​March 26, 2015

Dr. Sherrie Guerrero was appointed by the Mt. San Jacinto College Board to fill the Trustee Area 1 vacancy.  Trustee Area 1 is one of five Trustee Areas for Mt. San Jacinto College. 

Trustee Area 1 takes in communities that include Cherry Valley, Beaumont, Banning and Cabazon and reaches into Idyllwild, Anza, Aguanga and a portion of Temecula. Dr. Guerrero resides in Cherry Valley.

Dr. Guerrero took the Oath of Office on Thursday, March 26, 2015 during a special meeting that allowed the Board to conduct public interviews of seven candidates who applied for the seat. An eighth candidate was unable to attend the meeting.

Prior to taking a vote, Trustee Bill Zimmerman thanked the candidates and said that the board would vote for the person who best complements the board at this time. Trustee Tom Ashley said he was pleased that all of the candidates were so well qualified for the seat.

The trustees voted unanimously on the resolution to appoint Dr. Guerrero to fill the Trustee Area 1 board vacancy.

In February, the board voted to appoint an individual to fill the vacant seat rather than call for a costly special election. The seat for Trustee Area 1 became vacant after Eugene Kadow resigned the end of January. Mr. Kadow’s term would have expired in 2016. Dr. Guerrero will serve the remainder of that term.

Dr. Guerrero is the associate superintendent of Instruction & Institutional Effectiveness at Chaffey College. She received an Associate of Arts degree from San Bernardino Valley College; a Bachelor of Arts degree from California State University, San Bernardino; a Master of Arts degree from California State University, Fullerton; and a Doctor of Education degree from the University of Southern California.

MSJC’s newest trustee,  Dr. Sherrie Guerrero, takes the Oath of Office on March 26, 2015.

MSJC trustees welcomed their newest member, Dr. Sherrie Guerrero, after she was appointed on March 26, 2015. From left: Board members Dorothy McGargill and Tom Ashley; Board President Ann Motte; Guerrero; Student Trustee Liliana Gomez; and Board Member Bill Zimmerman.