Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Recogition of our Phi Theta Kappa and Honors Enrichment Program Students

Recogition of our Phi Theta Kappa and Honors Enrichment Program Students

Recogition of our Phi Theta Kappa and Honors Enrichment Program Students at the Phi Theta Kappa All-California Academic Team Awards luncheon in Sacramento, CA on Monday March 21st.
The scholarship subcommittee of the Honors Enrichment Program faculty reviewed the MSJC student applications for the All-USA and Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team during Fall semester 2010 and nominated the four best student applicants for nationwide consideration. All four of our nominated students, Gina Guglielmana, Alisha King, Ashley Henley, and Joseph Stacy, were chosen by the Community College League of California to be part of the All-California Academic team and were invited to a special luncheon at the Sacramento Convention Center on Monday March 21st to be recognized for their academic excellence. The All-California Academic Team is divided into three levels. The 1st team being the most successful students followed by the 2nd team students and then the 3rd team students. Alisha King acheieved 2nd team recognition status. Gina Guglielmana, Ashley Henley, and Joseph Stacy all achieved 1st team recognition status. Having all of our students in the 1st and 2nd academic teams was a higher achievement then any of the other California community colleges that were represented at the luncheon. Moreover, two of our students won Coca-Cola Academic Team Scholarships. Ashley Henley was one of fifty students nationwide named as a Silver Scholar and received a $1,250 scholarship and a special silver award medallion. Joseph Stacy was one of the fifty students nationwide named as a Gold Scholar and received a $1,500 scholarship and a special gold award medallion. Pictures of the All-California Academic Teams from the awards luncheon can be viewed at this Community College League website - After the luncheon the academic team was invited to the capitol and allowed to enter the viewing area of the congressional chamber while the state congress announced their presence and congratulated them on their academic excellence. This was definitely an incredibly special opportunities for our students.
Recognition of our Beta Delta Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa
The success of our Beta Delta Omega Chapter was recognized at the Phi Theta Kappa Nevada/California Regional Convention in Foster City, CA on Saturday March 5th.
Our chapter was recognized as a Five Star Phi Theta Kappa chapter for achieving the highest level of participation in honors society activities including the planning and execution of a College Project and Honors in Action Project. Only 8 of the 98 Nevada/California Region chapter acheieved Five Star status.
Our chapter received first place honors in the Issue #10 History and the Future division and third place honors overall for our Low-Tech Challenge Honors in Action project that engaged MSJC students district wide in a scholarly exploration of the digital age and the democratization of information during Fall semester 2010.
Our chapter received second place honors for the Distingiushed Chapter Award which is based on the overall quantity and quality of our chapter's participation in the honor society's programming including successful completion of our Holiday Food and Toy Drive College Project and our Low-Tech Challenge Honors in Action Project. This award is essentially a ranking of the Nevada California Region chapters and our Beta Delta Omega chapter was ranked as the second best chapter out of 98 total chapters in our region.
A picture from the PTK regional convention can be found here –
The success of our Beta Delta Omega chapter would not have been possible without the hard work of our officer board, faculty advisors, and support specialist that are listed below:
President:  Joseph Stacy
Vice President: Amy Bartel
Executive Chapter Secretary: Julia Morales
Executive Finance Officer: Angie Hughes
Jr. Executive Finance Officer: Zachary Segawa
Correspondence Secretary: Melissa Kirk
Scholarship Officer (MVC): Luana Barfield
Scholarship Officer (SJC): Raymond Delgado
Service Officer (MVC): Sydney Ghazarian
Service Officer (SJC): Colleen Tozer
Fellowship Officer (MVC): Gina Guglielmana
Fellowship Officer (SJC): Jena Aronson
Leadership Officer (MVC): Jeshsika Martinez
Leadership Officer (SJC): Daniel Tripp
Enhancement Officer (MVC): Marlen Gonzalez
Chapter Historian (MVC): Yesenia Jameson
Chapter Historian (SJC): Reyna Chavez
Technology Officer: Melissa Seidl
Faculty Advisor (SJC): Christina Yamanaka
Faculty Co-Advisor (SJC): Jorge Valdez-Alvarez
Faculty Co-Advisor (MVC): Nick Reeves
Support Specialist in PTK Office: Sandi Uhrig