Pass area MSJC student receives first Sun Lakes Charity Scholarship award

Pass area resident Jennifer Moreno received the first Sun Lakes Charity scholarship on May 11, 2011 during the Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation’s Scholarship Breakfast.
The Sun Lakes Charity awarded Moreno with a $2,000 scholarship that will allow her to continue her studies in Office Administration and Accounting.
The Sun Lakes Charity members praised Moreno’s determination as she works toward her graduation.
“She has overcome her own personal challenges, is a role model for her two sons, is active in her church, and is the President of the Care Club at MSJC,” said Gerry Fawcett, a Sun Lakes Charity member. “She has shown stellar character and courage in handling these responsibilities even while battling her own health problems. She is a graduate of Beaumont High School right here in the pass. We are proud to award Jennifer with our 2011 Scholarship.”
Moreno received her scholarship during the 14th annual Student Scholarship Awards Breakfast held at the Soboba Country Club in San Jacinto. More than 70 MSJC students were awarded a total of $110,000 in scholarship funds at the event.
The MSJC Foundation Scholarship Breakfast was generously sponsored by the Soboba Casino and Tri Lakes Consultants.
More than 200 students applied directly to the MSJC Foundation for scholarships this year, twice the number of students who applied in 2010. Scholarship awards are based on a person’s academic metric and financial needs. The MSJC Foundation Scholarship Committee is made up of dedicated Foundation board members who review each application and select the recipients.
The funds can be used for tuition, books, school supplies or equipment. The MSJC Foundation accepts donations for scholarships throughout the year.
The scholarship donors were: A Second Chance Scholarship; American Association of University Women (AAUW); Alice Jean Turner; Assistance League of Hemacinto; Bert & Alice Cutting;  Charles & Norma Opie Endowment; Charles Rohr Memorial; Delta Kappa Gamma; Doyle Memorial;  Dr. E. Stoddard Music; Dr. Milo P. Johnson Memorial; Emma J. Hammagren, F.G. Borin; G Borin; G. Reed;  Gary L/ Tyler  Memorial; Gene Lombard Scholarship; Glenn Steinback Memorial; Golden Era; Harold G. Heller Memorial; Heffner Memorial; Henry O. Cassle; J. Simpson Memorial; Jennifer Daniel Memorial; Kit Longe Scholarship; Marion Applegate; McAtee Scholarship; McQueen Nursing; Mildred E. Hight; Mina Pennick Perpetual; NOLUR; P & H Iverson; Paul E. Tibbetts Memorial; President’s Pooled; Rohrabacker Memorial; Rosemarie Ramos Scholarship; Sandi Saraydarian Memorial; Silvia Shirko Estate; Sun Lakes Scholarship; Temecula Valley Women’s; The Art Brostrand Memorial; Tony Silva Scholarship; Valley PEO; Victorina T. Edora; Warren & Olga Schultz; Waterhouse Edwards; Weinstein Perpetual; William Billion Memorial; William Pemberton; WM Sprowl Memorial; Zena Sharp Memorial.
The Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501 (c) 3 corporation that broadens the educational opportunities of its students.  Established in 1983, it is designed to receive gifts for the college from individuals, corporations and foundations.
Since the Foundation was formed, more than $1,000,000 in scholarships and book loans have been awarded. Also, donations have provided instructional equipment and facility improvements. Throughout the college district, the Foundation continues to actively solicit support from donors for each of the college's two campuses.
There are as many different ways to support Mt. San Jacinto College Foundation as there are needs for your support.  They include the President’s Club, the Alumni & Friends Association, the Legacy Society, and the Scholarship program.  We invite you to explore the website at to learn how you can be a part of shaping and developing the future of Mt. San Jacinto College.
Or, call 951-487-3171 for more information.
From left to right: MSJC counselor Mike Rose, MSJC student Jennifer Moreno and
MSJC Superintendent/President Dr. Roger Schultz at the 14th annual
MSJC Foundation Scholarship Breakfast.