Two MSJC students Take Top Honors as Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars

March 19, 2013
Two Mt. San Jacinto College students received the Gold and Silver 2013 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholar awards.
Shayla Esarey of Temecula was named a 2013 Gold Scholar and Clarice Gerbl of San Jacinto was selected as a 2013 Silver Scholar.
“I am extremely proud of Shayla and Clarice,” said Dr. Roger Schultz, MSJC’s superintendent/president. “They are continuing Mt. San Jacinto College’s proud history of exceptional honors students. Their intelligence and drive and passion to make a positive impact on their communities will certainly lead them to successful careers.”
The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Gold Scholars receive a $1,500 scholarship and Silver Scholars receive a $1,250 scholarship. The scholars will also receive a special medallion, according to Phi Theta Kappa.
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program and recognizes Coca-Cola Community College scholars during All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremonies held in 38 states. In California, the ceremony was held on March 6. Student scholars also receive recognition locally during ceremonies held on campus and internationally for those who are able to attend Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention.
Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.
This year, Shayla and Clarice and fellow MSJC students Nik Warren and Sarah Stebbings made history when all four were selected for the First Team during the 2013 Phi Theta Kappa All-California Community College Academic Team awards.
Last year, two MSJC students received national recognition. Amy Bartel was one of four MSJC students selected for the 2012 Phi Theta Kappa All-California Community College Academic Team. Amy went on to receive the New Century Scholar award. Only one student in each state is selected for this prestigious award.
That same year, Joseph Stacy was awarded the Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship. Only 60 community college students nationwide are recipients of this $30,000 multi-year scholarship.
They are a host of MSJC students who, over the years, have received state and national recognition and scholarships.
“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their vote of confidence in community college students by investing in their futures,” said Dr. Rod Risley, Executive Director of Phi Theta Kappa. “Their support is especially welcome during this challenging economic climate, as more and more community college students need additional resources to help them complete their degrees.”
“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.”
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.
Shayla Esarey
Clarice Gerbl