Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-13-2015

Weekly Round-Up 10-13-2015

University Admissions Representative Visits
Oct. 13, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Poly Pomona
Oct. 13, 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Oct. 14, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman
Oct. 19, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Oct. 20, 9:00 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Marcos
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 13, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
Oct. 20, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Decimals
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Spirit Week BBQ
Oct. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Near Rm. 1007
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 13, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Student Brown Bag Lunch
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Join Superintendent/President Dr. Schultz and the Executive Cabinet for updates on the budget, Measure AA Bond projects, enrollment and more
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
RED Digital Cinema Forum
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
A demonstration of RED’s professional DSMC (Digital Stills and Motion Camera)
For more information contact Caren Hennessy at 951-639-5526 or chennessy@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Black, Latina, and Old Jim Crow
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, 2011, French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Flying Home, by David Nicholson
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254 – Applying to Ivy League Schools
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Personal Statement
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Concentration and Memory                 
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Writing a Research Paper                               
Oct. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Student Leadership
Oct. 20, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Submitting a Research Poster/Paper to the HTCC Conference at UCI
Oct. 20, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Interview Skills
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Events
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211/MVC Rm. 416 – STEM Orientations
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 – Engineering Workshop: Arduino Microcontrollers
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Personal Statement
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Concentration and Memory
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Send Silence Packing
Oct. 14, 9:00 am, MVC Quad
Active Minds Organization’s presents this nationally acclaimed suicide awareness program traveling display
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3255 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Flu Shot Clinic
Oct. 14, 9:30 am – 11:30 am, SJC Rm. 2015
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 911
Reservations are required, cost per shot: $25 cash only
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Oct. 14, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Midterm Preparation
Oct. 15, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Campus Resources
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Fundraiser @ BJ’s
Oct. 14, 11:00 am – 10:00 pm, BJ’s Restaurant, 30208 Haun Rd., Menifee
Funds raised go to feeding programs and donations to local organizations
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 14, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
ASTAR Workshop
Oct. 14, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – Science
Oct. 15, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – Reading
Oct. 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 – English
Oct. 16, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – Math
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Oct. 14, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Utopia
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 14, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
The Great Shakeout
Oct. 15, 10:15 am
Earthquake preparedness drill
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3131, 951-639-5131 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Democrat vs. Republican Debate
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshop
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969 – Resume/Cover Letter
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969 - Interview
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Philosophical Society Lecture
Oct. 15, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
The Moral Behavior of Ethics Professors, with guest speaker Eric Schwitzgebel, Professor of Philosophy at UCR
For more information contact Tom Donovan at 951-639-5675 or tdonovan@msjc.edu
 
STEM Conversational Café
Oct. 15, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 651
All STEM program students are encouraged to come for refreshments, hot-topics and fun
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Bonfire and Harvest Festival
Oct. 15, 6:00 pm, SJC Quad
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Oct. 16, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
Performing Arts: The Importance of being Earnest
Oct. 16 & 17, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Oct. 18, 2:30 pm
Oct. 23 & 24, 7:30 pm
Oct. 25, 2:30 pm
The Importance of being Earnest, Written by Oscar Wilde, Directed by Payden Ackerman
Call the ticket Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Fall Scholarships
Oct. 16 Deadline: www.msjc.edu/scholarships
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
                                                                                                                                                                                          
Homecoming
Oct. 17, 11:00 am, BBQ and Pre-Game Fun, SJC Near Football Stadium
Oct. 17, 1:00 pm, Football Game,  SJC Carl Quandt Stadium
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 19, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
CSUSB EOP Day
Oct. 19, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C
Provides students transferring to CSU San Bernardino information about applying to the Extended Opportunity Program
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 20, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Student Brown Bag Lunch
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Join Superintendent/President Dr. Schultz and the Executive Cabinet for updates on the budget, Measure AA Bond projects, enrollment and more
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
The Decent One
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Through Oct. 31, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC SGA Office
Please help by donating to the Mary S. Roberts Pet Adoption Center
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Hours at the San Gorgonio Pass Campus
8:00 am – 5:30 pm, M – Th, SGP
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Facilities Surveyors Working on Campuses
SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone