Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-14-2014

Weekly Round-Up 10-14-2014

The San Jacinto Warehouse has an excess supply of the toner cartridges for the 3250 Desktop Copiers and the 5335 Standalone Copiers.
If anyone would like one delivered to them, please contact Cheryl Atchison in the SJC Purchasing Office at 951-487-3115 or catchison@msjc.edu
 
Save the Dates:
 
Got Pink Thursdays – Wear Pink on Thursday’s through October
 
Ask Students to Complete the MSJC Student Satisfaction Survey by Oct. 31
 
7th Annual Foundation Gala Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
 
 
 
S.A.T.O.R.I (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Oct. 14, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Mother: Caring for 7 Billion
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Await Your Reply, Dan Choan, (348 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951–        “              “
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 –    “           “          
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 –   “          “          
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – UC & CSU Differences
Oct. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 -    “         “             “            
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Study Skills
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication and Division
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 –  Memory & Concentration
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 –         “                     “
Oct. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Writing a Research Paper 
Oct. 16. 1:00 pm, SJC Rm.1250D –        “              “           “
Oct. 20, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486 – Stress Management
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D -  “             “
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 -  Concentration & Memory
Oct. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Writing Research Papers
Oct. 20, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 -  Grammar Questions
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Sessions
Oct. 14, 4:30 pm, THE Center Rm. 225
Oct. 14, 6:00 pm, THE Center Rm. 225
Earn your Associate and Bachelor degrees in four years guaranteed!
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film
Oct. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415 – Secrets of the Bog People
Oct. 20, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Trail of Tears
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Sociology Presentation
Oct. 15, 4:00 pm, SJC Library
A lecture by Sara E. Brown who has worked and conducted research in Rwanda since 2004
For more information contact Denise Dalaimo at 951-487-3695 or ddalaimo@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture
Oct. 15, 7:00 pm, WSC, 2345 Searl Pkwy, Hemet
Biting Off More Than You Can Chew, presented by Dr. Alton Dooley, Executive Director
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Shakeout Drill
Oct. 16, 10:16 am, All Campuses
All campuses will participate in this important, statewide safety exercise
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3190 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Program
Oct. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Knowing Your Charter/Goal Setting
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3276 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Students: Earn Extra Credit at the Art Gallery
Deadline for artwork: Oct. 16
Day of the Dead, create a memorial remembrance of a loved one
 
Theatre Arts Dept. Presents: Almost Maine
Oct. 17, 18, 24, 25, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Oct. 19, 26, 2:30 pm
Comedy, confusion and romance under the northern lights, by John Cariani
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for SP15
Through Oct. 17
Targeting students who qualify for the BOGW A or B
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3290 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
Race For the Cure: Join Team MSJC!
Oct. 19, 8:00 am, Temecula Promenade Mall
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
SGA Special Elections
Oct. 20 – 24, Ballots will be distributed via student email
Elections for Student Government Association President and Vice President
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Free Flu Shots for Veterans
Oct. 20 & 27, 1:30-4:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1560
Oct. 21 & 28, 1:30-4:00 pm, MVC Bldg. 1017
Oct. 22 & 29, 1:30-4:00 pm, SGP
Oct. 23 & 30, 1:30-4:00 pm, TEC
Walgreens will process free flu shots for all Veterans with proof of Veteran status (VA Card or DD214)and Social Security number
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-487-3247 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer and Career & Technical Education Workshops
Oct. 20, 1:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A
Oct. 21, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Job Skills Development: Job Search, Resume/Cover Letter, Interview Preparation, Professional Communication
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsFA14.pdf
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center College Fairs
Oct. 21, 10:00 am, MVC Parking Lot C (partial closure)
Oct. 28, 10:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B (partial closure)
Students can meet with representatives from UC’s, CSU’s, Private and Out-of-State schools
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Oct. 21, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Colors of the Mountain (2010) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
MSJC’s 2014 Educational Summit Oct. 23, 10:00 am, Pechanga Resort & Casino Eagle View Room
 
Concert Band Halloween Spooktacular Oct. 28, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Ride the Bus, Win an iPAD
Ride RTA and be automatically entered into the iPad drawing!
 
Chiller Replacement Project
SJC 100 Building
The District has been allocated Energy Improvement Project funding, through Proposition 39
 
Painting project on SJC 
Weekly updates will be provided of the locations being power washed and prepped for paint.
For more information contact Diane Morales at 951-487-3105 or dmorales@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone