Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-21-2014

Weekly Round-Up 10-21-2014

Career/Transfer Center College Fairs
Oct. 21, 10:00 am, MVC Parking Lot C (partial closure)
Oct. 28, 10:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B (partial closure)
Students can meet with representatives from UC’s, CSU’s, Private and Out-of-State schools
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer and Career & Technical Education Workshops
Oct. 21, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Job Skills Development: Job Search, Resume/Cover Letter, Interview Preparation, Professional Communication
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsFA14.pdf
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Oct. 21, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Political Party Presentation
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
The Political Science Club will be presenting the chairs of the Republican and Democratic Central Committees
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D – Stress Management
Oct. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 22, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research Follow-up
Oct. 28, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using APA
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication and Division
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Operations on Fractions, Addition and Subtraction
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 21, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Colors of the Mountain (2010) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Free Flu Shots for Veterans
Oct. 21 & 28, 1:30-4:00 pm, MVC Bldg. 1017
Oct. 22 & 29, 1:30-4:00 pm, SGP
Oct. 23 & 30, 1:30-4:00 pm, TEC
Oct. 27, 1:30-4:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1560
Walgreens will process free flu shots for all Veterans with proof of Veteran status (VA Card or DD214) and Social Security number
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-487-3247 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Workshop
Oct. 22, 11:00 am, SJC Free Speech Area
Learn how to Manage Your Money
For more information contact Financial Aid at 951-487-3245 or finaid@msjc.edu  
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – UC Application 
Oct. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951– CSU Application 
Oct. 27, 1:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Oct. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – Career Development
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 22, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Essay Outlines
Oct. 28, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using APA
Oct. 28, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Commas
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film
Oct. 22, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Documented
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Oct. 22, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
America and Lewis Hine
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Got Pink Thursdays – Wear Pink on Thursday’s through October
 
MSJC’s 2014 Educational Summit
Oct. 23, 10:00 am, Pechanga Resort & Casino Eagle View Room
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Oct. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
All Faculty Meeting
Oct. 24, 9:00 am - 12:00 pm, SJC Rm.
For more information contact Rose Russell 951-487-3401 or rrussell@msjc.edu
 
Theatre Arts Dept. Presents: Almost Maine
Oct. 24, 25, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Oct. 26, 2:30 pm
Comedy, confusion and romance under the northern lights, by John Cariani
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
Day O’ Dead Student Art Exhibit
Oct. 27 -31, SJC Art Gallery
 
Anthropology Club Film
Oct. 27, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416 – The Kayapo
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Oct. 28, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 355B/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
UC Riverside Representative Visit
Oct. 28, 2:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to UC Riverside
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Haunted Hospital
Oct. 28, 5:00-7:00 pm, MVC Bldg. 500
For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5577 or jbaker@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Halloween Spooktacular Oct. 28, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
 
Ask Students to Complete the MSJC Student Satisfaction Survey by Oct. 31
 
Save the Date:
7th Annual Foundation Gala Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Ride the Bus, Win an iPAD
Ride RTA and be automatically entered into the iPad drawing!
 
Chiller Replacement Project
SJC 100 Building
The District has been allocated Energy Improvement Project funding, through Proposition 39
 
Painting project on SJC 
Weekly updates will be provided of the locations being power washed and prepped for paint.
For more information contact Diane Morales at 951-487-3105 or dmorales@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone