Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-27-2015

Weekly Round-Up 10-27-2015

Spring 2016 Schedule of Classes now Online
Registration begins November 16
Classes begin January 20
http://www.msjc.edu/ScheduleofClasses
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Application now Available
Application deadline is December 15 
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
 
Parking Lot B Closure
Oct. 27, 6:00 am – 3:00 pm, SJC Lot B
(For College Fair)
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
UC Berkeley Presentation
Oct. 27, 9:00 am – 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1301
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 27, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Percentages
Nov. 3, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer College Fair
Oct. 27, 10:00 am, SJC Quad
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Wallace Edgerton Memorial Bus Stop Dedication
Oct. 27, 10:00 am, MVC
Dedication of bus stop on the Menifee Valley Campus
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 27, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Visiting Writers Series
Oct. 27, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Flying Home: seven stories of the secret city, a conversation and reading with author David Nicholson
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Oct. 27, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Using APA
Oct. 27, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Avoiding Plagiarism
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Oct. 27, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Using APA
Oct. 27, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Oct. 29, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Nov. 3, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Oct. 27, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Oct. 28, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
UC Santa Barbara Representative
Oct. 27, 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
Appointments for students to meet with an admissions representative for up-to-date transfer information
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshop
Oct. 28, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Staying Focused
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 28, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Application
Nov. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Personal Statement
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Oct. 28, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Elizabeth Mascaro at 951-487-3212 or emascaro@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 28, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Parking Lot C Closure
Oct. 29, 6:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Lot C
(For College Fair)
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer College Fair
Oct. 29, 10:00 am, MVC In Front of LRC
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1614
Temperance Ideology and Its Foundations in Enclosure
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Fruitvale Station
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Oct. 29, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 156 
STEM welcomes Ben Orchard, Industrial Automation Application Engineer
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Blackboard Monthly Scheduled Maintenance
Oct. 29, 10:00 pm – Oct. 30, 2:00 am
Blackboard (at my.msjc.edu) and EagleAdvisor (ea.msjc.edu) will be unavailable during this time
For more information contact Micah Orloff at 951-639-5440 or morloff@msjc.edu
 
Judging: Halloween Decorating Contest
Oct. 29th MVC/SGP/SJC/TEC
Hosted by the Classified Senate, departments on all campuses can compete for a fabulous prize
For more information contact Elizabeth Mascaro at 951-487-3212 or emascaro@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Oct. 30, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
TEDx Temecula
Oct. 31, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, Old Town Temecula Community Theater
Featuring educational and inspirational speakers, this years’ TEDx includes our very own Business Instructor, Denis Nurmela
For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Through Oct. 31, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC SGA Office
Please help by donating to the Mary S. Roberts Pet Adoption Center
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Reception: Barbara Rivera
Nov. 1, 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
The Art and Soul of Dia de los Muertos
For more information contact Royce Bunyard at 951-487-3585 or rbunyard@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 2, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Nov. 2, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 207
Students hoping to produce work in upcoming dance concerts show their moves to the audience and get feedback
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 3, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Environmental Studies Guest Speaker
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
'California Through My Lens,' author and photographer Josh McNair, will give a presentation on writing, photographing and blogging
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Library
Walls, Laws and Dreamers: A Fish Bowl Discussion
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Reclaiming the Plan for Higher Education Presentation, featuring Amy Hines
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
India’s Daughter
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resumes & Cover Letters
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Art and Soul of Dia de los Muertos
Ends Nov. 13, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery
Featuring works by artist Barbara Rivera, with a Reception on Nov. 1, 1:00 – 4:00 pm
For more information contact Royce Bunyard at 951-487-3585 or rbunyard@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Hours at the San Gorgonio Pass Campus
8:00 am – 5:30 pm, M – Th, SGP
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Facilities Surveyors Working on Campuses
SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone