Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-28-2014

Weekly Round-Up 10-28-2014

Measure AA Informational Video
 
SWANS Winter Coat Drive
Deadline Nov. 1, MVC Bldg. 500
Help needy families by dropping off all-size jackets to Nursing & Allied Health department
For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5577 or jbaker@msjc.edu
 
CTE Perkins Survey
Attention MSJC Career Technical Education (CTE) Students - We need your help in order to secure future grant funding for our programs!  Please login to Student EagleAdvisor and take the Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey Located under the Communications Heading.
For more information contact Renee Jones 951-639-5635 or rjones@msjc.edu
 
CSEA October Newsletter
 
Career/Transfer Center College Fair
Oct. 28, 10:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B (partial closure)
Students can meet with representatives from UC’s, CSU’s, Private and Out-of-State schools
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Free Flu Shots for Veterans
Oct. 28, 11:00 am-1:30 pm, SJC Bldg. 1560
Oct. 28, 1:30-4:00 pm, MVC Bldg. 1017
Oct. 29, 1:30-4:00 pm, SGP
Oct. 30, 1:30-4:00 pm, TEC
Walgreens will process free flu shots for all Veterans with proof of Veteran status (VA Card or DD214) and Social Security number
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-487-3247 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Oct. 28, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 355B/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Oct. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Operations on Fractions, Addition and Subtraction
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Math Test Taking Skills
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 28, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using APA
Oct. 28, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Commas
Oct. 30, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 3, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Brainstorming and Pre-Writing
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 28, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using APA
Oct. 30, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 4, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D – Oral Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Nov. 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Interview Skills
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
UC Riverside Representative Visit
Oct. 28, 2:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to UC Riverside
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Haunted Hospital
Oct. 28, 5:00-7:00 pm, MVC Bldg. 500
For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5577 or jbaker@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Halloween Spooktacular
Oct. 28, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
 
Author Reading/Presentation: John Griswold
Oct. 29, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 927
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Day of the Dead Celebration
Oct. 29, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Kylie Gardner at kgardner679@student.msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – CSU Application 
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951– UC Application 
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
STEM Chemistry Hacks
Oct. 29, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Tricks, strategies, and study materials to help understand chemistry without extra work
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Sessions
Oct. 29, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951
Oct. 29, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 951
Earn your Associate and Bachelor degrees in four years guaranteed!
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Got Pink Thursdays – Wear Pink on Thursday’s through October
 
Halloween Department Decorating Contest
Oct. 30th Judging of Departments, SJC & MVC
Sponsored by CSEA, prizes for “best Halloween decorations” will be awarded the week of Nov. 3rd
For more information contact Kass Munoz at 951-639-5423 or kmunoz@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Explore 3D Modeling & Design with SolidWorks CAD
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Oct. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Homecoming Bonfire
Oct. 30, 6:00 pm, SJC Quad
MSJC Spirit Activity!
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Blackboard Maintenance
Oct. 30, 10:00 pm – Oct. 31, 2:00 am
Blackboard (at my.msjc.edu) will be unavailable for planned monthly maintenance
For more information contact Micah Orloff at 951-639-5440 or morloff@msjc.edu
 
STEM Build-A-Bot Workshop
Oct. 31, 2:00 – 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101/MVC Rm. 932
Design and build a robot or kinetic art
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Ask Students to Complete the MSJC Library Student Satisfaction Survey by Oct. 31
 
Ride the Bus, Win an iPAD
Now through Oct. 31
Ride RTA and be automatically entered into the iPad drawing!
 
Day O’ Dead Student Art Exhibit
Ends Oct. 31, SJC Art Gallery
 
Homecoming Football Game
Nov. 1, 1:00 pm, SJC Carl Quandt Stadium
Go Team!
For more information contact Chris Mozga at 951-487-3594 or cmozga@msjc.edu
 
Allied Health Professions Week
Nov. 2 – 8 Honoring all who work in the Allied Health Professions in our community
Nov. 6 – 7, MVC Building 500 Welcome, Board of Registered Nursing!
For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5577 or jbaker@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 3, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Shut Up (2003) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film
Nov. 3, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Cave of Forgotten Dreams
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Film Festival
Nov. 3, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
“Conversations with Richard Linklater”  Bernie (2011)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Nov. 4, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Art Presentation: Dr. William Havlicek
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Author, Van Gogh's Untold Journey
For more information contact John Seed at 951-639-5580 or jseed@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Orientation
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date:
7th Annual Foundation Gala Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Chiller Replacement Project
SJC 100 Building
The District has been allocated Energy Improvement Project funding, through Proposition 39
 
Painting project on SJC 
Updates will be provided of the locations being power washed and prepped for paint.
For more information contact Diane Morales at 951-487-3105 or dmorales@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone