Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-6-2015

Weekly Round-Up 10-6-2015

Save the Dates:
Oct. 9 : Employee Appreciation Day Softball Tournament, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field
               MSJC Foundation’s “Autumn Nights” 6 p.m., MVC
                (Scroll down to get more details on these Friday events)
 
Oct. 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Near Rm. 1007, Spirit Week Kick-Off BBQ
Oct. 15, 6:00 pm, SJC Quad, Bonfire and Harvest Festival
Oct. 17, 11:00 am, SJC Football Stadium, BBQ and Pre-Game Fun
Oct. 17, 1:00 pm, Football Game
 
Notice:
Student Services at the San Gorgonio Pass Campus has expanded its hours: 8:00 am – 5:30 pm, M - Th
 
Student Trustee Elections
Vote online now through Friday, October 9
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Oct. 6, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication & Division
Oct. 13, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 6, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Oct. 6, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
War Made Easy
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Oct. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Oct. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC  Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Application
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Personal Statement
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Oct. 6, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250 C – Applying for the All-USA and Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships                               
Oct. 7, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Annotated Bibliography
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Reading and Metacognition
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Applying for the All-USA and Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships                               
Oct. 12, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Stress Management
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254 – Applying to Ivy League Schools
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Personal Statement
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Concentration and Memory
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Essay Exam Preparation
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Mentoring for Non-Traditional Students
Oct. 6, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Practical information, stories and experiences will be shared to assist students in completing their educational journey
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Oct. 7, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – How to build a Portfolio
Oct. 8, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Midterm Preparation
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 7, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshop
Oct. 7, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Leadership/Getting Involved on Campus
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjcj.edu
 
ASTAR Workshop
Oct. 7, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – Science
Oct. 8, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – English
Oct. 8, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 506 – Reading
Oct. 9, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 815 – Math
Oct. 12, 9:00 am , MVC Rm. 511 - Science
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Oct. 7, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 207
An opportunity for students to show their work to an audience and get feedback
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Oct. 7, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Annotated Bibliography
Oct. 8, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Reading and Metacognition
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Concentration and Memory
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Events
Oct. 7, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Chemistry Hacks
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927 – Lecture Series: Dr. William Hayes
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211/MVC Rm. 416 – STEM Orientations
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 – Engineering Workshop: Arduino Microcontrollers
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 7, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Oct. 8, 10:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Oct. 12, 9:00 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Marcos
Oct. 12, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Oct. 13, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Poly Pomona
Oct. 13, 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day Softball Tournament
Oct. 9, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field
Participate or cheer on your favorite team and players, enjoy the BBQ lunch with co-workers
For more information contact Debbie Perez-Flores at 951-487-3156 or dflores@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Foundation’s “Autumn Nights”
Oct. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC
BBQ, Microbrews, Music! Learn more and buy tickets online: http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Autumn-Nights-Brewfest-2015.aspx
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Spring 2016 Textbook Online Ordering
Oct. 9 Deadline
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 12, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Oct. 13, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
RED Digital Cinema Forum
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
A demonstration of RED’s professional DSMC (Digital Stills and Motion Camera)
For more information contact Caren Hennessy at 951-639-5526 or chennessy@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Black, Latina, and Old Jim Crow
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, 2011, French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Flying Home, by David Nicholson
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Fall Scholarships
Oct. 16 Deadline: www.msjc.edu/scholarships
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Through Oct. 31, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC SGA Office
Please help by donating to the Mary S. Roberts Pet Adoption Center
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Facilities Surveyors Working on Campuses
SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
Foundation Eagle Hopper
Payroll Deductions offered to employees
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone