Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 10-7-2014

Weekly Round-Up 10-7-2014

Save the Dates:
 
Theatre Arts Dept. Presents: Almost Maine Starts Oct. 17th, 2 free tickets for MSJC employees! SJC Theatre http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AlmostMaineFlyer.pdf    
 
Race For the Cure: Join Team MSJC! Oct. 19, 9:00 am, Temecula Promenade
 
MSJC’s 2014 Educational Summit Oct. 23, 10:00 am, Pechanga Resort & Casino Eagle View Room
 
Concert Band Halloween Spooktacular Oct. 28, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
 
 
 
 
World Cinema
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Closet (2011) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Orientations
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418/SJC Rm. 158
Open to all students interested in STEM
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Personal Statement
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 -    “         “             “            
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 –   “          “          
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 –    “           “          
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951–        “              “
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Order of Operations
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Study Skills
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Oct. 7, 4:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer and Career & Technical Education Workshops
Oct. 8, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 951
Job Skills Development: Job Search, Resume/Cover Letter, Interview Preparation, Professional Communication
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsFA14.pdf
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
UCR Representative Visit
Oct. 8, 9:00 am, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to UC Riverside
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
ASTAR Workshops
Oct. 8, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 – Science Review Part 11
Oct. 8, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 - Math
Oct. 10, 8:00 am, MVC Rm. 974 - Reading
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
RTA Riders Meeting
Oct. 8, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Oct. 8, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
The House I Live In
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@smsjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Oct. 8, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Essay Exam Preparation
Oct. 9, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 -  Reading & Metacognition
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 -  Concentration & Memory
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Oct. 8, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Essay Exam Preparation 
Oct. 9. 1:00 pm, SJC Rm.1212 – Reading and Metacognition
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 –  Memory & Concentration
Oct. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 –         “                     “
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery a.r.t.e.r.y. Exhibit
Ends Oct. 9, SJC Art Gallery
“lost and found” exhibit runs through Oct. 9, M-Th, 10:00 am – 4 pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Oct. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Oct. 9, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 355B
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Oct. 9, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101
Medical Science with Maria Chavarria, BioChemist
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
College Tour: Cal Poly Pomona
Oct. 10, 8:00 am, Cal Poly Pomona
Transportation is free, bring you lunch or money for lunch
To attend the tour contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
October 10th, 6:00 – 10:00 pm, MVC
A Celebration of Service – An evening to honor our Veterans for their generations of service
 
Candidates Forum: San Jacinto City Council
Oct. 10, 7:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Willie Hamilton will host a forum with San Jacinto City Council candidates
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
CSUSB Representative Visit
Oct. 13, 8:30 am, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to CSU San Bernardino
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Program
Oct. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Knowing Your Charter/Goal Setting
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Mother: Caring for 7 Billion
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Oct. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Await Your Reply, Dan Choan, (348 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Students: Earn Extra Credit at the Art Gallery
Deadline for artwork: Oct. 16
Day of the Dead, create a memorial remembrance of a loved one
 
EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for SP15
Through Oct. 17
Targeting students who qualify for the BOGW A or B
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3290 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Ride the Bus, Win an iPAD
Ride RTA and be automatically entered into the iPad drawing!
 
Chiller Replacement Project
SJC 100 Building
The District has been allocated Energy Improvement Project funding, through Proposition 39
 
Painting project on SJC 
Weekly updates will be provided of the locations being power washed and prepped for paint.
For more information contact Diane Morales at 951-487-3105 or dmorales@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone