Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-10-2014

Weekly Round-Up 11-10-2014

Save the Dates:
 
President’s “State of the College” Luncheon & Fall Scholarship Awards Ceremony
Nov. 19, 11:30, Menifee Lakes Country Club, 29875 Menifee Lakes Drive, 92584
RSVP by Nov. 14 to Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3171 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
Tea With Gwen
Dec. 4, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
 
 
Veteran’s Day Holiday – College Closed
Tuesday, Nov. 11th
 
Veteran’s Day Freebies & Discounts
Nov. 11th
For more information contact Hyman Alvia at 951-487-3247 or halvia@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – CSU Application 
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application 
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Career Development 
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film
Nov. 12, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
We Steal Secrets
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
CSUSB Representative Visit
Nov. 13, 8:30 am - 4:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to CSU San Bernardino
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
City of Perris Small Business Summit
Nov. 13, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, 101 N. D. St., Perris 92570
The summit is being presented by the Veterans’ Business Resource Center
 
Student Life & Development Program
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – How to Run Effective Meetings
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Club Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Nov. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
5 Broken Cameras
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Giving Back as a Tutor/Becoming an SI Leader
Nov. 13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using MLA
Nov. 13, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D - Interviewing
Nov. 18, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Finding & Applying for Scholarships
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Nov. 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Using MLA
Nov. 13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Research Paper
Nov. 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601– Annotated Bibliographies
Nov. 18, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1216 – Websites and Games
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Sessions
Nov. 13, 4:30 pm, THE Center Rm. 225
Nov. 13, 6:00 pm, THE Center Rm. 225
Earn your Associate and Bachelor degrees in four years guaranteed!
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film
Nov. 13, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – What Makes US Human
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Nov.13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Bio-GeoChemistry with Timothy Lyons
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Nov. 14, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 453
Clock Without Hands, Carson McCullers, (259 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Nov. 14, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 969
3D Printing with Makerbot/SolidWorks – Part 1
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
STEM Build-A-Bot Workshop
Nov. 14, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101/MVC Rm. 932
Design and build a robot or kinetic art
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit Public Reception
Nov. 14, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
“Reflections: Recent Paintings and Photographs” by Stephen Beveridge
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
History Club Film
Nov. 14, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
All the President’s Men
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Little Mountain Big Band
Nov. 14, 6:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1614
Big Band music from the past 60 years!
For more information contact Robert Winokur at rwinokur@msjc.edu
 
FAFSA Workshop
Nov. 15, 9:00 am, Temecula Public Library, 30600 Pauba Rd., Temecula 92592
To aid students in filling out a Federal Application for Student Aid
For more information contact Dana Tate at 951-639-5241 or dtate@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagles Big Bands
Nov. 16, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
The best sounds of the Big Bands through the years!
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Last Day to Apply for Fall 2014 Graduation and Certificates of Achievements
For more information contact Enrollment Services at  enrollsvcs@msjc.edu
 
UCSD Representative Visit
Nov. 17, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to UC San Diego
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. (Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence) Garden Movement Meeting
Nov. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
For students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Percentages
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meetings
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
Nov. 19, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411
Topic: Body Image/Feminism
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Holiday Food Drive
Nov. 19th Deadline
The Classified Senate and CSEA will be collecting donations through Nov. 19th
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Class with a “W” grade
Nov. 21 -  Some classes have an earlier date; please refer to Enrollment Services  http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/Fall-2014.aspx
For more information contact Enrollment Services at  enrollsvcs@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date:
7th Annual Foundation Gala Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
ADA Tip of the Week
 
Talon Talks
Survey to Rank Topics of Interest: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/TalonTalks
 
CTE Perkins Survey
Attention MSJC Career Technical Education (CTE) Students - We need your help in order to secure future grant funding for our programs!  Please login to Student EagleAdvisor and take the Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey Located under the Communications Heading.
For more information contact Renee Jones 951-639-5635 or rjones@msjc.edu
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone