Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-10-2015

Weekly Round-Up 11-10-2015

Holiday Timesheet Deadlines
 
Study Abroad in Spain
Students: There’s Still Time to Apply!
 
 
Common Read
Nov. 10 - 13, SJC
One Book, Many Stories: A Student and Faculty Showcase – Stories will be posted throughout campus
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 10, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication & Division
Nov. 17, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Nov. 10, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Nov. 10, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Nov. 16, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Veterans Day Celebrations
Nov. 10, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Nov. 12, 12:00 pm, MVC Front of LRC
Join the MSJC Veterans Resource Centers, Student Government Association and RTA as we honor our veterans with a special ceremony and BBQ
For more information contact Mary Lou Dillard at 951-639-5234 or mdillard@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 10, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – Steps to Transfer
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Interview/Soft Skills
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Business Services Training
Nov. 10, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200/Linked to MVC Rm. 851
The Business Services office will present the new paper and water requisition process
For more information contact Gail Jensen at 951-487-3023 or gjensen@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 10, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Tired of Kissing Frogs, 2006, Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
University of California Transfer Information Night
Nov. 10, 6:00 – 9:00 pm, THE Center
Admissions representatives  will present information about their campuses and specific transfer admission policies
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at (951) 639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at (951) 487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 10, 6:00 pm, SJC Studio Theater
Film: A Better Life
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Community Concert Band
Nov. 10, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
A Salute to American Composers and their Music, Directed by John Tribelhorn
Featuring official songs of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
College Closed for Veterans Day
Nov. 11th
 
Business Services Training
Nov. 12, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 805/Linked to SJC 1111
The Business Services office will present the new paper and water requisition process
For more information contact Gail Jensen at 951-487-3023 or gjensen@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshop
Nov. 12, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Networking for Success
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The Distance Between Us, a discussion with author Reyna Grande
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Nov. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Go Set a Watchman, by Harper Lee
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Using MLA
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Interviewing
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250 – Using MLA
Nov. 12, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Writing a Research Paper
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Writing Websites and Games
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Art and Soul of Dia de los Muertos
Ends Nov. 12, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Featuring works by artist Barbara Rivera
For more information contact Royce Bunyard at 951-487-3585 or rbunyard@msjc.edu
 
Faculty Meeting
Nov. 13, 7:30 am – 2:30 pm, Temecula Creek Inn
Olive Ballroom, 44501 Rainbow Canyon Road, Temecula, 92592
For more information contact Jill Lanphere at 951-487-3401 or jlanphere@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Nov. 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
Art Festival
Nov. 14, 12:00 pm – 8:00 pm, MVC
This free event includes art, music, a food truck rally and enrollment fair
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Enrollment Fair
Nov. 14, 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm, MVC
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Visiting Writers Series Presents Laurie Pepper “ART: Why I Stuck with a Junkie Jazzman”
Nov. 14, 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm, MVC
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony
Nov. 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Theatre
A reception will be held following the ceremony in the cafeteria
For more information contact Helen Gooding at 951-487-3276 or hgooding@msjc.edu
 
Spring 2016 Registration Begins
Nov. 16
Classes begin January 20
http://www.msjc.edu/ScheduleofClasses
 
Last day to apply for Fall 2015 Graduation and Certificates of Achievement
Nov. 16
 
Keenan Supervisor Training
Nov. 16, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 805
Risk Management training will be presented by account representatives from Keenan and Associates
RSVP to Barbara Oberg no later than Nov. 12th at boberg@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 16, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 17, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Hot Girls Wanted
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Interview
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
STEM Conversational Café
Nov. 17, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C 
Come join us for refreshments, hot topics and fun
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Last day to drop a full-term class with a “W”
Nov. 20
 
Classified Senate Holiday Canned Food Drive
November 20th  Deadline
For more information contact Sandy Darnell at 951-487-3480 or sdarnell@msjc.edu
 
CARE Holiday Program Donation Drive
December 4th Deadline, SJC/MVC EOPS/CARE Offices
The CARE Program is requesting donations of $15 gift cards or cash for children of students in financial need
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Spring 2016 Open Application Period
December 14th Application Deadline
Extended Opportunity Program and Services is accepting applications for Spring 2016
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Applications
December 15 Application Deadline
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Dec. 18th Deadline, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC Bldg. 1100/SGP Front Office
Please help the homeless by donating to the Valley Restart Shelter
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Spring 2016 Registration Appointments
Log into Student EagleAdvisor to view your registration appointment: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/When-is-my-Registration-Appointment.aspx
Contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu for more information
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider
Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?
Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logos
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone