Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-17-2015

Weekly Round-Up 11-17-2015

 
Latino/Latina Thought: Culture, Politics and Society
SOCI 115: Chican@s in Contemporary Society
 
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Form is the Fiber
Now through Dec. 17, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery
Four featured artists expand the forms of fiber and fabric
For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 17, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
Nov. 24, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Decimals
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 17, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and 4-year universities
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Hot Girls Wanted
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Interview
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Interview/Soft Skills
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Application
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Writing Websites and Games
Nov. 18, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Annotated Bibliographies
Nov. 24, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Commas
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Nov. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Interviewing
Nov. 18, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Annotated Bibliographies
Nov. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Chicago-Style Citations
Nov. 24, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Panic Reduction
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
STEM Conversational Café
Nov. 17, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C 
Come join us for refreshments, hot topics and fun
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshop
Nov. 18, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Networking for Success
Nov. 19, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Math Anxiety
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 18, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Fall Scholarship Luncheon and State of the College
Nov. 18, 11:30 am, Menifee Lakes Country Club
Dr. Schultz will give the Annual State of the College after which the Foundation will present students with scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year. Cost is $10 at the door.
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200
The Origins of the Star Trek Phenomenon: Gene Roddenberry, the Original Series, and Science Fiction Fandom in the 1960’s
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211/MVC Rm. 412
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Nov. 18, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Nov. 18, 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Poly Pomona
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights in the Middle East
Nov. 18, 4:00 pm, SJC Library
A lecture by J.J. Spurbeck, Executive Director of TEAM, Training & Education About the Middle East
For more information contact Denise Dalaimo Nussbaum at 951-487-3695 or ddalaimo@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Nov. 18, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Roadmap to Apartheid
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 18, 6:00 pm, SJC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Speakers on Islam
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
STEM welcomes Lisa A. Nordstrom, Ph.D., Applied Animal Ecology – The Science of Saving Species
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Fall Dance Concert
Nov. 19, 20 & 21, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Nov. 22, 2:00 pm
Students perform original works by both faculty and student choreographers
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
CSU Los Angeles Tour
Nov. 20, 7:45 am (departure from campuses) MVC/SJC
Free tour hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, bring your lunch or money to buy food
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Speech Tournament
Nov. 20, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 479
Participants will compete in one of three events: informative speech, persuasive speech and oral interpretation
Register at speechtournament@msjc.edu For more information contact Beverly Natividad at bnatividad@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Nov. 20, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
Last day to drop a full-term class with a “W”
Nov. 20
 
Classified Senate Holiday Canned Food Drive
November 20th  Deadline
For more information contact Sandy Darnell at 951-487-3480 or sdarnell@msjc.edu
 
Study Abroad in Spain
November 20th Deadline to apply
 
24-Hour Theatre Project
Nov. 21, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
A special project for theatre students to show their skills and ideas with only 24 hours to put it all together
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Nov. 23, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 488
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 23, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 24, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
“Be the Match” Marrow Donation Presentation
Nov. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Hosted by SWANS in honor of Marrow Awareness Month
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Nov. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
CARE Holiday Program Donation Drive
December 4th Deadline, SJC/MVC EOPS/CARE Offices
The CARE Program is requesting donations of $15 gift cards or cash for children of students in financial need
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Spring 2016 Open Application Period
December 14th Application Deadline
Extended Opportunity Program and Services is accepting applications for Spring 2016
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Applications
December 15 Application Deadline
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Dec. 18th Deadline, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC Bldg. 1100/SGP Front Office
Please help the homeless by donating to the Valley Restart Shelter
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Holiday Timesheet Deadlines
 
Spring 2016 Registration Appointments
Log into Student EagleAdvisor to view your registration appointment: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/When-is-my-Registration-Appointment.aspx
Contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu for more information
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider
Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?
Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logos
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone