Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-18-2014

Weekly Round-Up 11-18-2014

Save the Dates:
 
Auditions: You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown
Dec. 10 & Jan. 13, 6:00 – 8:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
Joanna Quejada’s Retirement Party
Wed. Dec. 17, Noon – 2pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Cynthia Prentice at 951-639-5321 or cprentice@msjc.edu
 
Student Wins iPad from RTA!
 
Transportation Now Meeting
Nov. 18, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 1007
RTA riders, speak your mind on suggested routes, etc.
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
SGA Thankfulness BBQ
Nov. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad
Celebrate being thankful, participate in campus life, enjoy a BBQ lunch
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Nov. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 355A/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Nov. 18, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Percentages
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Career Development 
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Nov. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – UC Application 
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – CSU Application 
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D - Interviewing
Nov. 18, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Finding & Applying for Scholarships
Nov. 20, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Interview Skills
Nov. 20, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 419 – How to Write an Abstract
Nov. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D – Chicago-Style Citations
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meetings
Nov. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
Nov. 19, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411
Topic: Body Image/Feminism
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 18, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1216 – Websites and Games
Nov. 25, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Integrating Source Material
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Foundation Scholarship Awards Ceremony /State of the College Luncheon
Nov. 19, 11:30 am, Menifee Lakes Country Club, 29875 Menifee Lakes Drive, 92584
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3171 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
Authors In Conversation
Nov. 19, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 927
Award-winning authors and MSJC professors Duff Brenna and Eduardo Santiago will converse about writing, publishing and their work
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
GIS Day
Nov. 19, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 901
“Drone Technology and Imagery Processing”, hosted by MSJC Geosciences and sponsored by ESRI
For more information contact Cindy Nance at 951-639-5540 or cnance@msjc.edu
 
Holiday Food Drive
Nov. 19th Deadline
The Classified Senate and CSEA will be collecting donations through Nov. 19th
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
SGA Thankfulness BBQ
Nov. 20, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Celebrate being thankful, participate in campus life, enjoy a BBQ lunch
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Nov. 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
College Tour: UC San Diego
Nov. 21, 8:00 am, UC San Diego
Transportation is free, bring you lunch or money for lunch
To attend the tour contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Club Community Service Project
Nov. 21, 9:00 am – 11:00 am, Estudillo Garden, 150 S. Dillon Ave., San Jacinto
Help Valley Beautiful with Estudillo Garden community service
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Speech Tournament
Nov. 21, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 479
Inaugural speech tournament sponsored by the Communication Studies Department and Communication Studies Club
For more information contact Ron Newman at rnewman@msjc.edu
 
STEM Build-A-Bot Workshop
Nov. 21, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101/MVC Rm. 932
Design and build a robot or kinetic art
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Class with a “W” grade
Nov. 21 -  Some classes have an earlier date; please refer to Enrollment Services  http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/Fall-2014.aspx
For more information contact Enrollment Services at  enrollsvcs@msjc.edu
 
Curriculum Committee Meeting
Nov. 24, 3:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305
For more information contact Tina Vandewater at 951-487-3405 or tvandewater@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Nov. 25, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Nov. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film
Nov. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 416
The Lau of Malatia
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Nov. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dirty Wars
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Pre-Med Student Workshop
Nov. 25, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
“What Medical Schools Look for in a Student”, with Neal L. Schiller, Senior Associate Dean, UCR
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PremedWorkshopFlierFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Newsletter
Nov. 2014
 
Tea With Gwen
Dec. 4, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Through Dec. 12, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
“Reflections: Recent Paintings and Photographs” by Stephen Beveridge
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
7th Annual Foundation Gala Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
ADA Tip of the Week
For more information contact Laurie Flynn at 951-487-3300 or lflynn@msjc.edu
 
Talon Talks
Survey to Rank Topics of Interest: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/TalonTalks
 
CTE Perkins Survey
Attention MSJC Career Technical Education (CTE) Students - We need your help in order to secure future grant funding for our programs!  Please login to Student EagleAdvisor and take the Career Technical Education (Perkins) Survey Located under the Communications Heading.
For more information contact Renee Jones 951-639-5635 or rjones@msjc.edu
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone