Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-3-2015

Weekly Round-Up 11-3-2015

Spring 2016 Registration Appointments Now Available
Log into Student EagleAdvisor to view your registration appointment: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/When-is-my-Registration-Appointment.aspx
Contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu for more information
 
New Disability Language Requirements for Events
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.” Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
Campus Safety Tip: Be aware of your surroundings. At night, try to plan the best, well-lit route through campus, walking in groups when possible. If you see something, say something. Report any and all suspicious activity promptly to the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department or the MSJC Campus Safety Department. In an emergency, dial 911. For MSJC Campus Safety information: www.msjc.edu/CampusSafety
 
EOPS Spring 2016 Open Application Period
Extended Opportunity Program and Services is accepting applications Now through December 14th:
 
Classified Senate Holiday Canned Food Drive
 
CARE Holiday Program Donation Drive
Now through December 4th, the CARE Program is requesting donations of $15 gift cards or cash for children of students in financial need: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CAREdonations2015.pdf
 
 
Math Workshops
Nov. 3, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
Nov. 10, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Percentages
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 3, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Environmental Studies Guest Speaker
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
'California Through My Lens,' author and photographer Josh McNair, will give a presentation on writing, photographing and blogging
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Library
Walls, Laws and Dreamers: A Fish Bowl Discussion
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Reclaiming the Plan for Higher Education Presentation, featuring Amy Hines
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
The Killing of America
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resumes & Cover Letters
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Nov. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
Nov. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Nov. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Application
Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – Steps to Transfer
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Nov. 3, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Nov. 4, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Integrating Source Material
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Nov. 4, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Memory and Concentration
Nov. 5, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Memory and Concentration
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 4, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Nov. 4, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1206 – Grammar Practice
Nov. 4, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Integrating Source Material
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshops
Nov. 4, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Commitment
Nov. 5, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Commitment
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjcj.edu
 
Temecula Valley Winery Hiring Event
Nov. 4 & 5, Noon – 4 pm, THE Center
The Career/Transfer Center hosts a hiring event for Avensol Vineyard and Winery hospitality positions: tasting room, tours & host, events, and restaurant
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Film Festival
Nov. 4, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
“Replicants, Operating Systems, and Terminators: Shared Worlds of Humans and Artificial Intelligence” will feature the film: Her
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Nov. 4, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 
Laboratory Notebook & Electronic Portfolio
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 4, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 5 - 13, SJC
One Book, Many Stories: A Student and Faculty Showcase – Stories will be posted throughout campus
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Book Club
Nov. 5, 5:30 pm, WSC Theatre
How to Clone a Mammoth by Beth Shapiro
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Pam Ford at 951-487-3725 or pford@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Nov. 5, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Who Am I? The Scientific & Cultural Context of Identity
Epidentity
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Community Orchestra Concert
Nov. 8, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Film Favorites, Directed by Pricila Chavez Lara
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Nov. 9, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 488
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Nov. 9, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Nov. 9, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 111
Explore 3D Modeling & Design with SolidWorks CAD
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Nov. 9, 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Nov. 10, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Nov. 10, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Veterans Day Celebrations
Nov. 10, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Nov. 12, 12:00 pm, MVC Front of LRC
Join the MSJC Veterans Resource Centers, Student Government Association and RTA as we honor our veterans with a special ceremony and BBQ
For more information contact Mary Lou Dillard at 951-639-5234 or mdillard@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Nov. 10, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Nov. 10, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Tired of Kissing Frogs, 2006, Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Common Read
Nov. 10, 6:00 pm, SJC Studio Theater
Film: A Better Life
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Community Concert Band
Nov. 10, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
A Salute to American Composers and their Music, Directed by John Tribelhorn
Featuring official songs of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
College Closed for Veterans Day
Nov. 11th
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Art and Soul of Dia de los Muertos
Ends Nov. 13, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery
Featuring works by artist Barbara Rivera, with a Reception on Nov. 1, 1:00 – 4:00 pm
For more information contact Royce Bunyard at 951-487-3585 or rbunyard@msjc.edu
 
Spring 2016 Schedule of Classes now Online
Registration begins November 16
Classes begin January 20
http://www.msjc.edu/ScheduleofClasses
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Applications
December 15 Application Deadline
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Hours at the San Gorgonio Pass Campus
8:00 am – 5:30 pm, M – Th, SGP
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider
Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Facilities Surveyors Working on Campuses
SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone