Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 11-8-2016

Weekly Round-Up 11-8-2016

Polling Locations:

Nov. 8, MVC Rm. 805

Location nearest to SJC: Clayton A. Record Elementary School at 1600 Malaga Dr, San Jacinto, in the multipurpose room

More voting information can be found at: www.voteinfo.net  

 

CalWORKs November Newsletter

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CalWORKsNewsletterNov2016.pdf

 

 

Brown Bag Lunches

Nov. 8, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Nov. 15, 12:00 pm, SJC Theatre

Bring your lunch and join the Executive Cabinet for an informal update and question & answer session on college business

For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting

Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AcademicSenateAndSiteCouncilMtgs2016-17.pdf

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Career/Transfer Center Workshops

Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 UC Personal Insight Questions

Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 UC Personal Insight Questions

Nov. 9, 1:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A Resume

Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 CSU Application

Nov. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 110 CSU Application

Nov. 15, 10:30 am, MVC Rm. 973 Resume

Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1614 Work & School Balance

Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 CSU Application

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransferFA16workshopsMVC-SJC.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Aimee Bravo at 951-487-3285 or abravo@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 UC Personal Insight Questions

Nov. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 UC Application

Nov. 10, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255 Using MLA

Nov. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Writing a Research Paper

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsSJCFA16Flyer.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsMVCFA16Flyer.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club Meetings

Nov. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 488

Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 488

Students can strengthen their creative writing skills and get involved on campus

For more information contact Susan Winslow at 951-639-5640 or swinslow@msjc.edu or Brenee Wright at 951-487-3648 or bwright@msjc.edu

 

InterClub Council (ICC) Meetings

Nov. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

Nov. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Maya Cardenas at 951-487-3380 or mcardenas@msjc.edu

 

Canvas Workshops

Nov. 8, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814

Learn the basics of creating a course in Canvas

http://www.msjc.edu/Online/Pages/Faculty-Resources.aspx

For more information contact Del Helms at 951-639-5758 or dhelms@msjc.edu

 

University Representative Visits

Nov. 9, 8:30 am, MVC Rm. 103 National University

Nov. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Poly Pomona

Nov. 10, 8:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 CSU San Marcos

Nov. 10, 11:000 am, MVC Rm. 103 UC Riverside STEM

Nov. 10, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Baptist University

Nov. 14, 9:30 am, MVC Rm. 103 CSU San Bernardino

Nov. 14, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 CSU San Marcos Temecula Campus

Nov. 15, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 Grand Canyon University

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AdmissionsRepsMVC-FA16.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Veterans Day Celebrations & BBQ’s

Nov. 9, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad

Nov. 10, 12:00 pm, MVC Quad

Celebrations will include guest speakers, honor guard presenting colors, national anthem and barbeque

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Veterans-Day-Celebrations-2016.aspx

For more information contact Mary Lou Dillard at 951-639-5234 or mdillard@msjc.edu

 

Student Equity Guest Speaker

Nov. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200

Donna Beegle presents “Making a Difference for those Living in the Crisis of Poverty”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StudentEquityBeegleFlier.pdf

For more information contact Brett Dooley, Professional Development Coordinator, 951-487-3501 or bdooley@msjc.edu

 

Public Safety Industry Skills Panel

Nov. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Learn what it’s like to work as a Police Officer, Firefighter, Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Correctional Officer, and more

http://msjcpublicsafetyindustryskillspanel.eventbrite.com

For more information contact Jenny Hughes, CTE Outreach Specialist Coordinator, at 951-639-5524 or jhughes@msjc.edu

 

Success Skills Workshops

Nov. 9, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 Notetaking

Nov. 9, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Notetaking

Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250A Anti-Procrastination 

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SuccessSkillsWorkshopsFA16.pdf

For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshop

Nov. 9, 1:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A Resume

Nov. 15, 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 Resume

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsFA16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5567 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

World Cinema

Nov. 9, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486

"El Mariachi" (1992) Spanish

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WorldCinemaFA16.pdf

For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu

 

Free Parenting Classes

Nov. 9, 5:30 pm, SJC CDC Bldg. 2100

Nov. 10, 5:30 pm, MVC CDC Bldg. 700

Learning @ Home

http://www.msjc.edu/ChildDevelopmentandEducation/Pages/Parenting-Classes.aspx

For more information contact Michelle Harper at 951-639-5616 or mharper@msjc.edu

 

Art Gallery Exhibit Opening Reception

Nov. 10, 12:30 – 2:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery

INLAND EMPIRE - Master of Fine Art Candidates from the University of California Riverside:

Dicky Bahto, Hollie Brown, Kellie Flint, Merideth Hillbrand, Ahram Park and Anna Wittenberg

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ArtGalleryInlandEmpire.pdf

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshops

Nov. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Writing a Research Paper

Nov. 10, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255 Using MLA

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJCflyerFA16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsMVCflyerFA16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu

 

Open Mic Night

Nov. 10, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Performing artists can demonstrate their talents in poetry, singing, playing instruments, and all other creative works

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Open-Mic-Night-November-2016.aspx

For more information contact Rafael Reynaga at 951-639-5481 or rreynaga@msjc.edu

 

University of California Transfer Information Night

Nov. 10, 6:00 pm, MVC Must RSVP for room number

Join admissions representatives and learn about the UC transfer admissions process

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/University-of-California-Transfer-Information-Night.aspx

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or
Aimee Bravo at (951) 487-3285 or
abravo@msjc.edu

 

College Closed for Veterans Day Holiday

Nov. 11

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Reminder-November-11-2016-Holiday.aspx

 

Classic Jazz Concert Featuring Arturo Sandoval

Nov. 13, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre

Legendary jazz musician and 10-time Grammy Award Winner, Arturo Sandoval

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Arturo-Sandoval-concert.aspx

For more information contact John Tribelhorn at 951-487-3641 or jtribelhorn@msjc.edu or Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Diversity Films and Guest Speaker

Nov. 14, 5:00 pm, SJC Theatre – Children of Chabannes

Nov. 15, 5:00 pm, SJC Theatre – My So Called Enemy

Emmy Award Winning Director Lisa Gossels screens her films

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Welcomes-Award-Winning-Film-Director-Lisa-Gossels.aspx

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

History Department Lecture Series

Nov. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254

“Who Really Sat Under the Sword of Damocles in Vietnam” with Leland Rash

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HistoryDeptSJClectureSeriesFA16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Gilman Springs Road Closure between SR 79 and Soboba Rd.

Nov – Dec

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Gilman-Springs-Road-Closure-2016.aspx

 

CARE Program requesting Donations for Holiday event

Now through Dec. 5th http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/CARE-Holiday-Donations.aspx

 

Art Gallery Exhibit

Now through Dec. 8, 10:00 am, SJC Art Gallery

INLAND EMPIRE - Master of Fine Art Candidates from the University of California Riverside:

Dicky Bahto, Hollie Brown, Kellie Flint, Merideth Hillbrand, Ahram Park and Anna Wittenberg

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ArtGalleryInlandEmpire.pdf

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex

Now through Dec. 9, Thursdays, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm, TEC

For more information contact the Financial Aid Office at finaid@msjc.edu

 

Foundation General Scholarships

Feb. 17, 2017 – Deadline to apply

http://www.msjc.edu/scholarships

 

Heart and Stroke Walk of Southwest Riverside County

May 6, 2017, Volunteers Needed

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Volunteers-needed-for-Heart-and-Stroke-Walk.aspx

 

EOPS Spring 2017 Applications Available

msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

2017-18 FAFSA or Dream Act Applications Available Now 

fafsa.ed.gov or dream.csac.ca.gov/

 

Worker’s Comp and Student Insurance

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Contact-for-Workers-Comp-and-Student-Insurance-Questions.aspx

 

Phone System Change

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Change-to-MSJC-Phone-System.aspx

 

On-line Professional Development through Go2Knowledge

Over 100 training options: www.tinyurl.com/MSJCProfDev

 

Take the Perkins Survey

http://www.msjc.edu/PerkinsSurvey

Information provided helps MSJC receive much needed grant funds for Career and Technical Education programs

 

Foundation Annual Payroll Deductions

Payroll Deduction Opportunities for Foundation Events

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Eagle-Plans-2016-2017.aspx

Eagle Plans for 2016-2017 Payroll Deduction

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Documents/EaglePlans1617.pdf

Foundation Payroll Deduction form

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Documents/FoundationPayrollDeductionForm1617.pdf

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings on software and more!

Internet Service: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysCaliforniaConnectsInternetService.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysNov1-2016.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysNov2.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysNov4.pdf

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event

 

Help us get the word out about your Events: Submit the Marketing Services Request Form to promote your event via social media, press release, website calendar, marquee and the Weekly Round-Up. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs. Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, poster, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first: www.msjc.edu/Branding  Always include the MSJC logo and a contact name, college phone number and email address.

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf