Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-1-2015

Weekly Round-Up 12-1-2015

Math Workshops
Dec. 1, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Percentages
Dec. 8, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Multicultural Exhibit
Dec. 1, 12:00 pm, MVC in front of Eagle Access Center
The exhibit will feature arts, crafts, clothing, music, books, games, and food from Vietnam, Philippines, Nigeria, Mexico, and the Middle East, among others
For more information contact Beverly Natividad at bnatividad@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 1, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Dec. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Made In L.A.
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Dec. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
The Rise of ISIS
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Dec. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC vs. CSU Differences
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 –       “               “
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshop
Dec. 1, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C –Stress Management
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Dec. 2, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Financial Management Skills
Dec. 3, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C -       “                 “              “
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Dec. 2, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Dec. 8, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Dec. 8, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Dec. 2, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Workshop
Dec. 2, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 600
Stress Management
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Dec. 2, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1206 – Blue Book Tips
Dec. 2, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Colons and Semicolons
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshops
Dec. 2, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Developing Integrity
Dec. 3, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C –        “               “
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjcj.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Dec. 2, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
Women During the Rwandan Genocide
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Dec. 2, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 2, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Dec. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 –       “               “
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Book Club
Dec. 3, 5:30 pm, WSC Theatre
The Peking Man is Missing by Claire Taschdijan
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Pam Ford at 951-487-3725 or pford@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Dec. 3, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Who Am I? The Scientific & Cultural Context of Identity
It’s a BOY! It’s a GIRL! – “Performing” Gender
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Jazz Ensemble Concert
Dec. 3 & 4, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Reservations are recommended – call the Box Office at 951-639-5790
For more information contact Chris Kiser at 951-639-5791 or ckiser@msjc.edu
 
Fall Dance Concert
Dec. 3, 4 & 5, 7:30 pm SJC Theatre
Dec. 6, 2:30 pm
Featuring choreographic work developed within a unique course called Dance Touring Ensemble
For more information contact Julie Freeman at 951-487-3630 or jfreeman@msjc.edu
 
AB104 Steering Committee Meeting
Dec. 4, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 805
Southwest Riverside County Regional Adult Education Consortium
For more information contact Deborah McKee at 951-639-5708 or dmckee@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Dec. 4, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
CARE Holiday Program Donation Drive
December 4th Deadline, SJC/MVC EOPS/CARE Offices
The CARE Program is requesting donations of $15 gift cards or cash for children of students in financial need
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Talon Talks Discussion
Dec. 4, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
A panel of professors discuss the issue of Bioethics
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Guitar Ensemble Concert
Dec. 5, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Reservations are recommended – call the Box Office at 951-639-5790
For more information contact Chris Kiser at 951-639-5791 or ckiser@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Campus Singers Concert
Dec. 5, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Reservations are recommended – call the Box Office at 951-639-5790
For more information contact Chris Kiser at 951-639-5791 or ckiser@msjc.edu
 
Music Student Showcase
Dec. 6, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Reservations are recommended – call the Box Office at 951-639-5790
For more information contact Chris Kiser at 951-639-5791 or ckiser@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Dec. 7, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 488
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Dec. 7, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 8, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and 4-year universities
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Reception
Dec. 8, 12:30 – 2:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Artists Heather Cook, Ariel Herwitz and Jill Spector from the current exhibit The Form is the Fiber will give an informal talk about their work
For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211/MVC Rm. 416
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dakota 38
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
Auditions: The Great Gatsby
Dec. 8, 6:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Auditions are open to students and the community at large
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-639-5793 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Spring 2016 Open Application Period
December 14th Application Deadline
Extended Opportunity Program and Services is accepting applications for Spring 2016
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Travel-Study Program to Belize
December 15th Deadline
Only a few spaces remain! Open to students, staff, faculty and community members
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu  or visit: www.EFCST.COM/1725759DJ
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Applications
December 15 Application Deadline
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Form is the Fiber
Ends Dec. 17, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery
Four featured artists expand the forms of fiber and fabric
For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Dec. 18th Deadline, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC Bldg. 1100/SGP Front Office
Please help the homeless by donating to the Valley Restart Shelter
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Holiday Timesheet Deadlines
 
 
Spring 2016 Registration Appointments Log into Student EagleAdvisor to view your registration appointment:
Contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu for more information
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider
Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?
Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logos
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone