Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-2-2014

Weekly Round-Up 12-2-2014

Save the Dates:
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Sessions
Dec. 10, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dec. 10, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Earn your Associate and Bachelor degrees in four years guaranteed!
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Campus Singers
Dec. 13, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Part of the Menifee Music Department’s Fall Concerts Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagles Orchestra Concert
Dec. 14, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Teri Safranek at 951-506-6616 or tsafranek@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Academy
Jan. 12 - 15, 2015, MVC
Innovation Institutes and Academy Showcase Day
For more information contact Anna Stirling at 951-639-5448 or astirling@msjc.edu
 
 
 
The Giving Tree
Now – Dec. 19, MVC & SJC Child Development & Education Centers
Donate a gift and help support our CDEC’s!
For more information contact Nancy Alvarado at 951-639-5607, 951-487-3613 or nalvarado@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Dec. 2, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Dec. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – UC & CSU Differences
Dec. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – UC & CSU Differences
Dec. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Dec. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Career Development 
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – Steps to Transfer
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Steps to Transfer
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meetings
Dec. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
Dec. 3, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411
Topic: Psychology of the Holidays
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Dec. 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Essay Exam Preparation
Dec. 2, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D – Submitting Research Projects/Papers
Dec. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Applying to Ivy League Schools
Dec. 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Panic Reduction
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Dec. 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Essay Exam Preparation
Dec. 5, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 1214 – Proofreading and Editing
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Using MLA and APA
Dec. 8, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Semicolons and Colons
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
CSUSB Representative Visit
Dec. 3, 8:30 am - 4:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to CSU San Bernardino
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Ceramics Club Holiday Sale
Dec. 3 & 4, 9:00 am – 2:30 pm, MVC in front of LRC
Unique gift ideas - handmade pottery
For more information contact Susan Giacalone at 951-639-5582 or sgiacalone@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
Dec. 4, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Dec. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, (448 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Dec. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Tea With Gwen
Dec. 4, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Dec. 4, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Belen Farinas at 951-639-5264 or mafarinas@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Dec. 4, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Journeys, Expeditions, and Voyages: Intellectual Growth & Cultural Change Through Travel
Travel as a Political Act
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Jazz Ensemble Fall Concert
Dec. 4 & 5, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Part of the Menifee Music Department’s Fall Concerts Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Dance Concert: Fall and Recover
Dec. 4, 5, 6, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Dec. 7, 2:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Highlighting the talents of MSJC dance artists, past and present
For more information contact Julie Freeman at 951-487-3630 or jfreeman@msjc.edu
 
College Tour: California State University San Marcos
Dec. 5, 8:00 am, CSUSM
Transportation is free, bring you lunch or money for lunch
To attend the tour contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Dec. 5, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 969
3D Printing with Makerbot/SolidWorks – Part II
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
STEM Build-A-Bot Workshop
Dec. 5, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101/MVC Rm. 932
Design and build a robot or kinetic art
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Talon Talks
Dec. 5, 6:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
What is the future of America? A debate about current issues affecting our country
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Guitar Ensemble & Instrumental Chamber Ensemble
Dec. 6, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Part of the Menifee Music Department’s Fall Concerts Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Music Student Showcase
Dec. 7, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Part of the Menifee Music Department’s Fall Concerts Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Program
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Conflict Resolution
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Dec. 9, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Community Concert Band
Dec. 9, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The band performs Christmas favorites!
Theatre Box Office: 951-487-3790
 
Auditions: You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown
Dec. 10 & Jan. 13, 6:00 – 8:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Accepting Applications Through Dec. 12th
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3290 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Ends Dec. 12, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
“Reflections: Recent Paintings and Photographs” by Stephen Beveridge
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Joanna Quejada’s Retirement Party
Dec. 17, Noon – 2pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Cynthia Prentice at 951-639-5321 or cprentice@msjc.edu
 
7th Annual Foundation Gala
Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
ADA Tip of the Week
For more information contact Laurie Flynn at 951-487-3300 or lflynn@msjc.edu
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone