Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-8-2015

Weekly Round-Up 12-8-2015

Get Your Gala Tickets Now!
Feb. 6, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino, MSJC – Building a Sustainable Future
The Foundation offers employees a special payroll deduction option to attend
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Save The Dates: Upcoming Holiday Events
 
CARE Holiday Program
Dec. 19, 10:00 am – 2:00 pm, SJC Cafeteria
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Classified Staff Holiday Luncheon
Dec. 21, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, SJC Cafeteria
RSVP to Elizabeth Mascaro at 951-487-3212 or emascaro@msjc.edu
 
 
PTK Holiday Food & Toy Drive
Now – Dec. 17, Donation boxes on MVC & SJC
PTK is collecting gifts, gift cards and non-perishable food items for students, employees and local residents
For more information contact Rich Rowley at 951-639-5627 or rrowley@msjc.edu
 
Photography Exhibit
Dec. 8, 9,10, 15, 16, 17, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
Dec. 10, 5:00 – 8:00 pm, Open House
An exhibition of advanced student and professional production class photography work
For more information contact Melissa Welch at 951-639-5684 or mwelch@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Dec. 8, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Dec. 8, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Dec. 9, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Dec. 15, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Dec. 8, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 8, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and 4-year universities
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Reception
Dec. 8, 12:30 – 2:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Artists Heather Cook, Ariel Herwitz and Jill Spector from the current exhibit The Form is the Fiber will give an informal talk about their work
For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshops
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211/MVC Rm. 416
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dakota 38
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Dec. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Resume/Cover Letter
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Auditions: The Great Gatsby
Dec. 8, 6:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Auditions are open to students and the community at large
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-639-5793 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Dec. 9, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Finals Prep
Dec. 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250 – Finals Prep
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Dec. 9, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Film Festival
Dec. 9, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
“Replicants, Operating Systems, and Terminators: Shared Worlds of Humans and Artificial Intelligence” will feature the film: Ex Machina (2015)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Dec. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Dear Committee Members, by Julie Schumacher
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Dec. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – APA and MLA
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshop
Dec. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Cal Poly Pomona Tour
Dec. 11, 7:45 am (departure from campuses) MVC/SJC
Free tour hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, bring your lunch or money to buy food
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
College Singers & Chamber Choir Winter Concert
Dec. 12, 7:00 pm, SJC Theatre
A Little Bit of Cheer
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790 or Emily Collins at ecollins@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagles Big Band Holiday Concert
Dec. 13, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Dec. 14, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Spring 2016 Open Application Period
December 14th Application Deadline
Extended Opportunity Program and Services is accepting applications for Spring 2016
For more information contact Leslie Salas at 951-487-3290 or lsalas@msjc.edu
 
Speech & Debate Team Meeting
Dec. 15, 12:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1215
A speech and debate squad that will compete against other community colleges and four-year universities in the state
For more information contact Ron Newman at 951-487-3442 or rnewman@msjc.edu
 
Travel-Study Program to Belize
December 15th Deadline
Only a few spaces remain! Open to students, staff, faculty and community members
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu  or visit: www.EFCST.COM/1725759DJ
 
Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship Applications
December 15 Application Deadline
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit: The Form is the Fiber
Ends Dec. 17, 10:00 am - 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery
Four featured artists expand the forms of fiber and fabric
For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Dec. 18th Deadline, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC Bldg. 1100/SGP Front Office
Please help the homeless by donating to the Valley Restart Shelter
 
Holiday Timesheet Deadlines
 
 
Spring 2016 Registration Appointments Log into Student EagleAdvisor to view your registration appointment:
Contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu for more information
 
Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider
Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?
Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logos
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone